Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Controlling Tabs

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul Main
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bucks, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default Controlling Tabs

    Is there a simple way to control which tab of a tab form to open on? I want to be able to open a tab form on different tabs. Is this possible?

    Another way to put it would be a tab form with four tabs. By selecting a different button 1,2,3 and 4. the appropriate tab 1, tab 2, tab 3 or tab 4. would be opened.

    Thanks

    Paul

  2. #2
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: Controlling Tabs

    Hi Paul,

    Yes this can be done. It has been asked and answered before in the forum. Do not remember if it is this one (think it is) or the v5 forum, but use the search feature and you will find your answer.

    Good luck
    Cheryl

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul Main
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bucks, UK
    Posts
    206

    Default RE: Controlling Tabs

    Cheryl,

    That was my first port of call. All the variation of searches I put in, as I could see, did not bring up what I wanted.

    Any ideas as on what to search for? tabs select open didn't work for me.

    Thanks

    Paul

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default RE: Controlling Tabs

    Paul,

    This might help you. I found it in the A5 Help file.

    .TAB_SET()

    RegardsKeith HubertGuild MemberLondon.KHDB Management Systems

  5. #5
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: Controlling Tabs

    Paul,

    I just searched for tabbed object here and the first message will assist you. Look at Stan's response, the tab_get is worth reviewing. Instead of .text you would simply 'activate'. I have not tried the activate but it should work.

    "a href="http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/alphaphorum/read.php3?sortby=lastreply&direction=desc&num=15&id=15747&thread=15745""Look at Stan's response"/a"

    Keith's idea is also worth reading.

    I personally do not 'activate' the tab, I activate a specific object on the tab using a select...case. See code at the end.

    Good luck
    Cheryl

    frm = topparent.this
    fld = frm.child("Tabbed1")
    curr_pg = fld.tab_get()
    select
    case curr_pg = 1
    parentform:date_rec.activate() 'specify first field to get focus, this page
    case curr_pg = 2
    parentform:spec_sub.activate() 'specify first field to get focus, this page
    case curr_pg = 3
    parentform:clin_data.activate() 'specify first field to get focus, this page
    case curr_pg = 4
    parentform:gross_id.activate() '2/08/05 CKL change from gross to gross_id
    case curr_pg = 5
    parentform:micro.activate() 'specify first field to get focus, this page
    case curr_pg = 6
    parentform:final.activate() 'specify first field to get focus, this page
    case curr_pg = 7
    parentform:pat_comm.activate() 'specify first field to get focus, this page
    case curr_pg = 8
    parentform:suppl.activate() 'specify first field to get focus, this page
    case curr_pg = 9
    parentform:status.activate() 'specify first field to get focus, this page
    end select

  6. #6
    VAR
    Real Name
    Cheryl Lemire
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    2,914

    Default RE: Controlling Tabs

    Paul,

    I was just looking at what I said to you, and 'activate' would be incorrect. The tab_get is doing the activation for you. If you look at my sample, I am setting focus on a specific object on a tab based on the tab_get result. This is really what you are looking for. Sorry for the confusion and mishap with my terminology.

    Good luck
    Cheryl

  7. #7
    Member Jerry Hartness's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Hartness
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    427

    Default RE: Controlling Tabs

    Paul

    'On form Activate
    dim pagenum as n
    pagenum=Tabbed1.Tab_Get()
    tabbed1.tab_set(pagenum+2)
    sys_send_keys("{TAB}")

    You can also go backwards (pagenum-2)

    In this example tab 3 will open

    You can also use this to tab from one tab to another without actually clicking on the tab.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    Member Jenny Earnshaw's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jenny Earnshaw
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    77

    Default RE: Controlling Tabs

    I managed to open a form in a specific tab by activating an object on that tab. The attached screenshot has a button called Delivery Collection Charge (button58) which I activate when opening the form.

    My actions for opening the form are:

    record_number = current_record_number()
    query.filter = "recno() = " + record_number
    query.order = ""


    'Open the layout_type showing just the records that satisfy the filter
    DIM Shared varP_Confirmed as P
    DIM layout_name as c
    layout_name = "Confirmed"


    dim tempP as p
    'Get pointer to existing window. In case layout_name is qualified with a dictionary name, extract up to first @. In case formname has spaces, normalize it
    tempP=obj(":"+object_name_normalize(word(layout_name,1,"@")))
    'Test if pointer is valid
    if is_object(tempP) then
    'Test if pointer refers to a form or browse
    if tempP.class() = "form" .or. tempP.class() = "browse" then
    'Apply the query to the form or browse as the Base query. (this means that
    'the user cannot turn the query off, only add to the query)
    tempP.BaseQueryRun(query.filter,query.order)
    'then activate the already open window
    tempP.activate()
    else
    'Window is not already open, so open it
    varP_Confirmed = :Form.viewqueried(layout_name,query.filter, query.order )

    end if
    else
    varP_Confirmed = :Form.viewqueried(layout_name,query.filter, query.order )

    end if
    'Activate object 'Button58' in Form 'Confirmed' .
    DIM window_name as C
    window_name = ":"+"Confirmed"
    DIM varP_Object as p
    'Get a pointer to the specified window
    varP_Object = obj(window_name)
    'Check if the specified window exists
    if .not. is_object(varP_Object) then
    ui_msg_box("Error","The window '"+window_name+"' does not exist.",ui_stop_symbol)
    else
    varP_Object:Button58.activate()
    end if

Similar Threads

  1. controlling record changes
    By Jos Schaars in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2004, 12:41 PM
  2. Controlling Toolbar
    By jwolfe11 in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2003, 05:15 PM
  3. Controlling buttons....
    By Mike Gillhoolley in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-24-2002, 08:30 AM
  4. controlling page breaks
    By Steve Pick in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-17-2001, 03:22 PM
  5. Controlling cursor in Xbasic
    By Kristal Mayne in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-27-2000, 10:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •