Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Detail Table - Column Default

  1. #1
    Kevin Willis
    Guest

    Default Detail Table - Column Default

    When adding a new record to a detail table, I want the
    default value for a field on a form to come from the
    master table.

    How would I do that?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ken Herrold
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    1,081

    Default RE: Detail Table - Column Default

    Kevin:

    I use lookupc,d,l, or n using the link index for the current record. Once your cursor has left the 'master' or header part of the form and entered the browse/detail, that 'master' reord has been saved. My example is an invoice in which I wanted the date of the invoice on each line of the browse, behind the scenes without user intervention.

    The field rule is calculated...
    LOOKUPD("F",INVNO,"DATE","invhead.dbf","invoice_nu")

    It this example invhead.dbf would be your 'master'; INVO, the linking key, and invoice_nu the index name.

    I'll bet someone has a better way but this works for me and I understand it.

    Ken

Similar Threads

  1. column on calendar from another table in set
    By John Burke in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2005, 08:51 PM
  2. default from different table
    By Edgar Lewis in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-10-2005, 04:32 PM
  3. Setting Filter for Detail Table
    By Kevin Willis in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-26-2005, 10:03 AM
  4. selecting detail info from a child table
    By javadad in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-02-2004, 03:55 PM
  5. column shift using RTF in report detail
    By Larry Ternowski in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-27-2003, 11:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •