Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2nd Row Label on Grid

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Louis Nickerson
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,039

    Default 2nd Row Label on Grid

    Hello All,

    Please see the attached screenshot.

    To the right of the customer name, I have inserted the field for the "Customer ID Number using freeform placement.

    I would like to include a row heading or "Label" forthe field, but don't know how to do so.

    Thanks for any help that can be offered.

    Louis

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Louis Nickerson
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,039

    Default RE: 2nd Row Label on Grid

    Looks like the attachment did not attach...let's try again.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,563

    Default RE: 2nd Row Label on Grid

    Louis

    A couple of things.

    1. This should probably be an entry in the WAS forum. True, they are both version 6, but the WAS forum is the subset of ideas dealing with the web.

    2. I saved your image as a .png with Paint and it's considerably smaller. BMP's are clear, but are saved in a very large file.

    Is the attached file just as clear?

    3. Since the freeform field that you put the field into accepts html, I'm guessing that you need to add more html code to it to display an html button with the text that you want in it followed by the data field.

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,279

    Default RE: 2nd Row Label on Grid

    you should post questions relating to the web server in the web application server forum.

    the solution to your question is really simple. if you are doing free form layout for that cell, just put the heading in the html.

    instead of simply entering:

    {customername} {customerid}

    as the freeform layout, use this:

    Code:
    
    
    NameID
    
    
    {CustomerName|{CustomerID}

  5. #5
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,279

    Default RE: 2nd Row Label on Grid

    my post did not come out very well. i was suggesting


    "table"
    "tr"
    "td"Name"/td""td"ID"/td"
    "/tr"
    "tr"
    "td"{CustomerName|"/td""td"{CustomerID}"/td"
    "/tr"
    "/table"

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Louis Nickerson
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,039

    Default RE: 2nd Row Label on Grid

    Al,

    Thanks for the response.

    How do I save as a .png. I do not see that as an option within MS Paint.

    Louis

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,563

    Default RE: 2nd Row Label on Grid

    Louis

    Are you using windows prior to XP/2000? ie Win98?

    It may not be an option on the older paint program.

    Otherwise, I use the PrtScrn button (to capture the screen) and than paste into paint (edit as needed) and save as a .png

    I don't have a win 98 machine to look at anymore. Maybe someone else can help.

    Here's more info than should be allowed in any one place...;-)

    http://www.libpng.org/pub/png/

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,563

    Default RE: 2nd Row Label on Grid

    Buried in one of the pages that the link has is software that supports .png:

    MS Paint [Microsoft] (Win32) - versions in Windows XP(?) and later; read/write; commercial. (This is one of the ``accessories'' that has been bundled with Windows since its earliest days. PNG support is a relatively new feature, however.)

    http://www.libpng.org/pub/png/pngaped.html

    I didn't see Alpha listed there, but there are functions to convert to and from png within Alpha 5.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with Grid Label
    By Rich Hartnett in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2005, 12:20 AM
  2. Updating parent grid after changing child grid
    By Howard G. Cornett in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 03:09 AM
  3. grid ??????????
    By Josh Curtis in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-29-2005, 12:54 PM
  4. Grid
    By Dannie Mogensen in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2004, 07:15 AM
  5. Server event for child grid in grid linker page
    By Peter.Wayne in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 04:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •