Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Allow growth when printing trouble

  1. #1
    Member Chris A's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Allard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    190

    Default Allow growth when printing trouble

    I have a report that for some reason does not allow growth when printing. It is setup for this as far as I can see the same as all the other reports. The other reports grow just fine.

    I have checked the field rules(It is a memo field), properties on the the form as well the report. The allow growth when printing field is checked on both the form and the report. Is there another spot that maybe I did not check?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    Hi,

    Put the Memo field into an RTF and set that to Grow when Printing.

    Let us know if that works.

    Regards

    Keith Hubert

    Guild Member
    London.

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,620

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    Chris

    We could do a lot of guessing, or you could be post an example.

  4. #4
    Member Chris A's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Allard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    190

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    I could post you an example, but the example works everytime I try it. I can still post it if you would like?

  5. #5
    Member Chris A's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Allard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    190

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    I am very xbasic illiterate and sort of shy away from this sort of stuff. I am sorry to say I don't know how to do this.

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,620

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    I'm thinking of an example of your database that isn't working. Or am I missing something here?

  7. #7
    Member Chris A's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Allard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    190

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    The allow growth works everywhere else in my application. I have about 30 reports and it works in all, but this one.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Keith Hubert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keith Hubert
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,930

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    Chris,

    You do not need Xbasic to put a RTF on a Report.

    See attached. Select the RT. You draw the box on the report and then you drag and drop the data/memo field into the RTF.

    Regards

    Keith Hubert

    Guild Member
    London.

  9. #9
    Member Chris A's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Allard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    190

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    Nothing is attached?

  10. #10
    Member Chris A's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Allard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    190

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    The form for the same report is also the only thing that is a little goofy. I have transfer buttons to go to different databases. When I click on any of the buttons except Quote the form comes right up. When I click on Quotes it gives me a blank screen. If I click on the up and down side bar every appears. I wonder if this might have something to do with the report growth?

  11. #11
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,620

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    So if you re-write the report does it work then?

  12. #12
    Member Chris A's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Allard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    190

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    I think that is all that is left for me to try.

  13. #13
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,620

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    There's nothing else that we can do for you if you don't post the table/set that is involved.

    Re write the report and just work on the part that is failing to see if it will work in a new report. Then add the other features.

  14. #14
    Member Chris A's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Allard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    190

    Default RE: Allow growth when printing trouble

    I rebuilt the report and it now works just like the others. Thanks for you time and help!

Similar Threads

  1. Network printing trouble
    By Nathan Zeiset in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-19-2006, 04:51 PM
  2. Trouble Printing on Pre-Formatted Forms
    By Tegwin in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-14-2006, 10:01 AM
  3. Sudden Growth of .FPT
    By Peter Lear in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-15-2003, 04:39 AM
  4. Trouble printing with a KX-P1124 under V7
    By Anthony Lazzaro in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-01-2002, 07:15 PM
  5. Trouble Printing Avery Labels w/A4V7
    By JOHN McDONALD in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-12-2002, 07:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •