Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Multiple A5V6 Problems

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Sean Riggs
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    54

    Default Multiple A5V6 Problems

    I'm sure that this is posted in other locations but the searching feature doesn't seam to filter well.

    I am having multiple errors while running A5V6 on several of my systems (both of which are laptops btw). I constantly have a refresh issue within all parts of a5v6, from fields to filed rules to browses. Several times I have had issues with calculated fields working and then not working, this also occurs with set information. On top of all of this I have random a5v6 exception errors that crash out alpha, and sometimes force a system reboot.
    I should state that I have just reloaded my system with Windows XP Pro SP2 and that a5v5 runs fine.

    Anyone have any thoughts on this?

    Thanks,
    ~Sean

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,619

    Default RE: Multiple A5V6 Problems

    Sean --

    I've also been going through this with my biggest customer. The fact is that there are some things or ways that we could do things in v5 that v6 doesn't like. As a beta tester, I and others did our best to catch what we could at the time, but now you, I and others need to just address these things one at a time and figure out how to make 'em work.

    - Steve

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Sean Riggs
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    54

    Default RE: Multiple A5V6 Problems

    Well I was hopping for a better answer, but so far I agree with you entirely. Unfortunately I kind of feel as if I have paid to be a beta tester. Don't get me wrong I think Alpha is good software; I am just very concerned with creating a reliable platform with A5V6. And my boss is really jumping down my throat for all of the bugs that keep occurring. I can't tell you how many times I have created an application and it works, and then stops working after an update, or even after the next time I run the application. I know that the alpha team is constantly updating things and adding features. I just wish I had given this a little more time before dedicating so much time and money into it.

    ~Sean

  4. #4
    Member Chris A's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Allard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    190

    Default RE: Multiple A5V6 Problems

    Sorry to hear about your problems, but am glad I am not the only one.

  5. #5
    Member Bob Houle's Avatar
    Real Name
    Bob Houle
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    Posts
    332

    Default RE: Multiple A5V6 Problems

    I know your frustration Sean, but have faith!

    I had a couple of niggling problems with V6, but once I isolated the problem and reported it; Selwyn was on it like a fat kid on a Smartie. [grin]

    --Bob

Similar Threads

  1. Some Problems of A5v6 Build 2058
    By KKH in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-2005, 12:37 AM
  2. A5V6 won't run
    By Kevin G. Timberlake in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2005, 12:12 AM
  3. Problems with multiple layers with embedded browse
    By Jared Sutherland in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-08-2005, 01:44 PM
  4. Help with A5V6 Help
    By B Philip Gerber in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2005, 07:17 AM
  5. Multiple Problems Causing Major Headaches - Help!
    By Dave Whittle in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-14-2002, 02:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •