Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: missing dll's

  1. #1
    Ray Matz
    Guest

    Default missing dll's

    I have downloaded the trial version of Alpha5vs6 and when trying to open it, it keeps coming up with dll files that I am missing. I am running Windows 98se with all the latest patches. I can probably find the dll's in various places on the internet, but was wondering if there was one place that includes all the dll's that I will need to run the program

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,693

    Default RE: missing dll's

    The installer should have all the DLLs required. Which ones are you being told you need?

    -Lenny

  3. #3
    Ray Matz
    Guest

    Default RE: missing dll's

    mprapi.dll
    activeds.dll
    adsldpc.dll
    Now it gives me a strange error message that adsldpc.dll file is linnked to missing export. Maybe I should try to uninstall and reinstall the program

  4. #4
    Alpha Software Employee AaronBBrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Aaron Brown
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    2,836

    Default RE: missing dll's

    None of those DLLs are used by Alpha Five. Some of them sound like they may be associated with your Intenet connection. Do you have an ADSL line?

  5. #5
    Ray Matz
    Guest

    Default RE: missing dll's

    I have a 256k connection (sort of a piece of a T-1 line). I don't understand. Why would it even be asking for those files?

  6. #6
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,693

    Default RE: missing dll's

    Upon first starting up, Alpha Five checks the Internet to see if there are any updates available. It is possible that this is where the problem is coming in. What happens if you connect to the Internet before trying to start Alpha Five.

    Once you start Alpha Five, you can disable this automatic checking if you'd like.

    -Lenny

  7. #7
    Ray Matz
    Guest

    Default RE: missing dll's

    My internet is "always on". I am just looking for an easy to use database program to assist me in tracking sales/commissions for my company. Everything I read about your program is that it is just that - easy to use. It's a little unnerving though, that I am having this much trouble just opening the program. Maybe I should drop back and punt on this idea.

  8. #8
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,693

    Default RE: missing dll's

    Ray, a quick google search will show you that these DLLs are for your router an Internet connection and are not related to Alpha Five.

    You can disable the automatic checking by going into regedit, find HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Alpha Software\Alpha Five 6.0\preferences\internet and set the BackgroundAccess value to "Disable Background Checking" (without the quotes). See if this makes a difference.

    -Lenny

  9. #9
    Ray Matz
    Guest

    Default RE: missing dll's

    Well, the plot thickens. I don't have the registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Alpha Software

  10. #10
    Ray Matz
    Guest

    Default RE: missing dll's

    I take it you think I should give up?

  11. #11
    Alpha Software Employee AaronBBrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Aaron Brown
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    2,836

    Default RE: missing dll's

    No, don't give up. The problem has to do with some driver files on your computer. You need to either remove the offending driver or reinstall it to make sure all the correct files are in place.

  12. #12
    Ray Matz
    Guest

    Default RE: missing dll's

    This morning I uninstalled the program, disconnected the computer from the network, and then reinstalled the program. I got the same error messages about missing dll's. I don't understand why in one of the threads I was told to go to the registry and look for a certain registry key and when I do, that registry isn't even there. You are suggesting that I have some offending driver files. How would I know which ones they are? Everything else on my computer works.

  13. #13
    Alpha Software Employee AaronBBrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Aaron Brown
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    2,836

    Default RE: missing dll's

    The registry key doesn't exist because you haven't successfully started A5 up yet. I am suggesting you have offending driver files that need to be updated because you are getting errors saying as much. Alpha 5 does not ship the dlls in question.

  14. #14
    Ray Matz
    Guest

    Default RE: missing dll's

    I don't see how I could have offending driver files when the error message I am getting is 'missing dll's' Especially when they are dll's that have nothing to do with your program. I tell you what. I appreciate all the help you guys have given me, but I give up. I wanted a simple to use database program for my company and this has already been more work than it should be. Maybe I will try loading it on my laptop to see if I can get better results.

  15. #15
    VAR John Oesterle's Avatar
    Real Name
    John Oesterle
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    236

    Default RE: missing dll's

    Was this ever resolved?

    I am trying to load V6 on my laptop with WIN98SE and am getting the same missing *.dll errors which prohibit V6 from its initial loading.

    The *.dlls referenced on my ThinkPad are mprapi.dll and samlib.dll, both of which appear to be Win2000 or higher NT Windows version dlls. I can't get beyond samlib.dll because of apparent registry linkage from the dll copies I tried.

    Is V6 really compatible with WIN98?

    - John O

  16. #16
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,693

    Default RE: missing dll's

    John, as we originally told Ray, neither mprapi.dll nor samlib.dll are Alpha Five DLLs.

    They are both Microsoft DLLs and are related to networking, see http://www.liutilities.com/products/wintaskspro/dlllibrary/mprapi/ and http://www.liutilities.com/products/wintaskspro/dlllibrary/samlib/.

    Did you follow my instructions above which explain how to disable background checking for updates upon startup? This is the only network access Alpha Five would be doing at startup.

    -Lenny

  17. #17
    VAR John Oesterle's Avatar
    Real Name
    John Oesterle
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    236

    Default RE: missing dll's

    Lenny -

    The problem is that A5v6 never gets a chance to establish ANY registry settings. It would appear that alpha5.exe does its network/internet checking by default on startup. The DLL error must occur very early in the startup procedure because nothing related to V6 is written to the HKEY_CURRENT_USER tree structure. All I have are "Alpha Five 4.0" and "Alpha Five 5.0".

    I mentioned in the other thread that while these DLLS most certainly are by Microsoft, they also appear related to WIN NT & related versions only (2000, XT, Server 2003). Why are they being triggered in WIN98? I've checked 3 WIN98 boxes, all patched to current, and none have these DLLs.

    - John

  18. #18
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,693

    Default RE: missing dll's

    John, I can't tell you why they are being triggered on Windows 98. I can however assure you that Alpha Five is not calling them. Because they are network related, I can only assume that when Alpha is checking the Internet, something in your network configuration is trying to load them. That is why I suggested disabling the automtic checking.

    If there is not yet an Alpha Five 6.0 registry key, you can simply create one, then the sub keys listed above.

    If that still does not work, look in your Alpha Five program folder for a file named a5startup.log. If there is one there, please send it to me.

    -Lenny

  19. #19
    VAR John Oesterle's Avatar
    Real Name
    John Oesterle
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    236

    Default RE: missing dll's

    Lenny -
    I created the key and sub keys as per your msg. I get the same DLL error ("Error Starting Program, A required .DLL file, MPRAPI.DLL, was not found."). The error dialog box pops up immediately. There was no change in behavior.

    I have an install.log, but no a5startup.log file to send you.
    - John

  20. #20
    VAR John Oesterle's Avatar
    Real Name
    John Oesterle
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    236

    Default RE: missing dll's

    I found the solution to this problem in a sort of backhanded way. Since Norton Anitvirus is often found to be at the root of wierd behavior, I searched Symantec's Knowledge Base for "mprapi.dll" and got the answer for my configuration, anyway. If anyone is interested, you can do this search or use the following link. BTW, Norton is NOT the culprit.

    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/ent-gate.nsf/37b2c8a4989b899a88256dda00599189/7ae7365c4dd836a285256dcf0067461a?OpenDocument&prod=Norton%20AntiVirus&ver=2005&src=sg&pcode=nav&svy=&csm=no

    If anyone needs the file in question (iphipapi.dll), I can send it to them.

    Thanks again Lenny for following on this.
    - John O

  21. #21
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Watts
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: missing dll's

    hi,
    http://www.fix-all-dll-errors.com/adsldpc.dll/
    http://www.fix-all-dll-errors.com/mprapi.dll/
    http://www.fix-all-dll-errors.com/activeds.dll/

    This site will fix your problem just click "Fix dll errors"now button.

    Now just download the program and it will fix your problem.No need to scan.
    Hope it works :)

Similar Threads

  1. Confused about using DLL's
    By Melvin Davidson in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-18-2005, 03:46 PM
  2. Using Alpha Five DLL's in other laguages
    By Marcel Kollenaar in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-07-2003, 07:24 AM
  3. DLL's
    By Noble Bell in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2001, 04:52 AM
  4. dll's, crashes, etc.
    By Bill in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-12-2001, 11:40 AM
  5. Using DLL's
    By Bob Houle in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-02-2001, 01:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •