Alpha Video Training

Thread: Can AlphaFive do this?

Michael Gauthier

Default Can AlphaFive do this?

Hi - I am new to AlphaFive and have just downloaded the demo. Everything I've read and seen so far looks very good. Before I go too far, though, I have one question about capabilities - can I build a workgoup application for laptop users who will be disconnected most of the time? They need access to their own data, and need to be able to send and receive both data and database structural changes when they connect to the server. I've reviewed "shadow" databases and e-mail sending of changes, but neither seems appropriate for 60-80 users with large amounts of data being moved around. Am I asking too much?
    Thanks for any input.
    Mike G

Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings

Default RE: Can AlphaFive do this?

In general, you can do the stuff you ask about re: data. The devil is always in the details, but overall, "sure."

On another point, though, I see all sorts of red flags when you talk about uploading structural changes. Users should not generally be allowed to make structural changes to tables once a database is in place. Please be sure you understand this before you proceed. And this goes for any database application, not just A5.

Welcome, I hope, to the Alpha community. Jump right on here and (search first then) ask all you need.

- Steve

Michael Gauthier

Thanks for your comments Steve. Of course, users should not be allowed to make table changes. But as a developer, there needs to be an easy way to get changes and enhancementws out to users. I understand your use of the term "sure", but can you provide any of the details of how it would work?
    Thanks
    Mike G

Jeannette Cook

Can AlphaFive do this? Most certainly.