Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Change form based of single table to based off set

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Peter Frohlich
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    19

    Default Change form based of single table to based off set

    Sorry if this is obvious - I am still new at this.

    I have a nicely designed form based off a single table (transaction table).

    Now I find that I want to email a letter based off the details entered into the form to a client. The client details are in a different table (client table), and the script I am writing will not let me access the necessary contact fields because the form was based off the transaction table rather than a set that contains both tables.

    How can I change the form so it is now based off the set rather than off the transaction table? Form properties will not let me change it.

    Any suggestions? Thanks

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Create a set with the transaction table as the parent and any other tables from which you need fields as children. Select the form in the control panel, right click, copy to .... Select the set. You will then be able to select fields from the, now, child tables of the new set.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Peter Frohlich
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Thanks Stan. That works! Does the same principle apply to adapt existing reports, letters etc?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Yes, it does.

Similar Threads

  1. Parent table based on query of child table.
    By edward.mattison@scbhn.org in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2005, 04:14 PM
  2. Report: Change table or set its based on
    By Ryan Giggs in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2004, 06:09 AM
  3. Changing the Table a form is based on
    By tarlachmoorhouse in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-22-2003, 02:02 PM
  4. Find forms based on table...
    By Blake in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-11-2003, 03:11 PM
  5. Change values based upon default expression
    By lake trash in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-11-2001, 08:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •