Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: problem with dropdown boxes in lookup field

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,445

    Default problem with dropdown boxes in lookup field

    have suddenly got a problem each time I try and add a <new record> to a drop down table lookup.

    I get a message -- the system cannot find the file specified program files\A5V6\quote items.dbf or units of measure.dbf or whatever file it is looking up. These files are in my C:\database folder why is it looking in alpha 5 directory for them.

    Have tried altering the field rules and making sure it is pointing to the right file.

    Have tried deleting the file and making a new copy of it ensuring in correct directory entering data again and still nothing.

    How do I make sure it is looking in the correct directory?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default

    Lance,

    I searched for

    lookup cannot find

    and this led me to the following thread:

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...up+cannot+find

    The last entry suggests a possible solution using a custom form to enter new records to the lookup source table.

    Let us know if this works for you.

    -- tom

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,445

    Default

    Thanks Tom,

    Guess I should have done a search for this first.

    Strange how it suddenly started happening though.

Similar Threads

  1. Conditional Lookup as a dropdown
    By Howard G. Cornett in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-21-2005, 04:33 AM
  2. WAP lookup work with dropdown lists
    By Brett in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-16-2005, 09:55 AM
  3. Dropdown boxes: how to set for multiple choices?
    By LTinPB in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-25-2005, 08:10 AM
  4. dropdown lookup?
    By Daniel Weiss in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-10-2002, 05:41 PM
  5. Lookup dropdown lists.
    By Jesse Vickey in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2002, 08:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •