Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: v7 WEB using SSL

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jerry
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    187

    Default v7 WEB using SSL

    Is there any samples of the new SSL feature.

    If you turn on SSL it would appear you also need to change the default port to port 443 and then Alpha5 stops servicing port 80.
    Is it true that its ONE or the OTHER not both ports?

    On a normal response.redirect("page.a5w") if the server is in SSL mode does the redirect go as https:// or http://? Do we need to add our own logic here if we are staying within our own Alpha5 app?

    Sorry for all the questions, but I couldn't find much on it.

    Thanks

    (Sorry I posted to the wrong thread and don't see where I can change it over to the WEB v7)

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Selwyn Rabins's Avatar
    Real Name
    Selwyn Rabins
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    5,298

    Default

    response.redirect("page.a5w") will automatically to go https://. You don't need to do anything to make this happen.

  3. #3
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ab042
    Is there any samples of the new SSL feature.

    If you turn on SSL it would appear you also need to change the default port to port 443 and then Alpha5 stops servicing port 80.
    Is it true that its ONE or the OTHER not both ports?
    Correct, it is one or the other, the server can only run on a single port at this time. You can run SSL on port 80 if you'd like, but you'll have to use a URL such as https://sever:80/page.a5w. If you run the SSL server on port 443, the default for SSL traffic, your URL is simplified to https://server/page.a5w

    Quote Originally Posted by ab042
    On a normal response.redirect("page.a5w") if the server is in SSL mode does the redirect go as https:// or http://? Do we need to add our own logic here if we are staying within our own Alpha5 app?
    That depends on what you mean by "normal". If you do a response.redirect("page2.a5w"), this is a relative redirect so the browser will continue using HTTPS if that's what it was using. But if you use response.redirect("http://server/page2.a5w"), the browser will now use HTTP because you have explicitly told it to do so.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Jerry
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    187

    Default

    >That depends on what you mean by "normal". If you do a response.redirect
    >"page2.a5w"), this is a relative redirect so the browser will continue using
    >HTTPS if that's what it was using. But if you use response.redirect
    >("http://server/page2.a5w"), the browser will now use HTTP because you
    >have explicitly told it to do so.

    Just to clarify on the above example if SSL is turned on and is using the normal 443 port the example "http://server/page2.a5w" would not work unless "server" was something other than our Alpha5 server because its locked to port 443 only. Is this correct?

  5. #5
    Alpha Software Employee AaronBBrown's Avatar
    Real Name
    Aaron Brown
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    J,

    You might be interested in reading this Tip of the Day.

    Quote Originally Posted by ab042
    >That depends on what you mean by "normal". If you do a response.redirect
    >"page2.a5w"), this is a relative redirect so the browser will continue using
    >HTTPS if that's what it was using. But if you use response.redirect
    >("http://server/page2.a5w"), the browser will now use HTTP because you
    >have explicitly told it to do so.

    Just to clarify on the above example if SSL is turned on and is using the normal 443 port the example "http://server/page2.a5w" would not work unless "server" was something other than our Alpha5 server because its locked to port 443 only. Is this correct?
    [FONT=Tahoma][SIZE=1][COLOR=Blue]Aaron Brown
    Alpha Software Development Team[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]

  6. #6
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ab042
    Just to clarify on the above example if SSL is turned on and is using the normal 443 port the example "http://server/page2.a5w" would not work unless "server" was something other than our Alpha5 server because its locked to port 443 only. Is this correct?
    Correct.

    You can avoid this issue altogether by using a relative redirect instead. By using response.redirect("page2.a5w"), it will work no matter which port you are usnig and whether or not you are using SSL.

Similar Threads

  1. Update a PICTURE field from the web v7?
    By ab042 in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-27-2005, 04:20 PM
  2. Same HEADER & FOOTER on EVERY WEB PAGE
    By ab042 in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-26-2005, 05:45 PM
  3. web hosting of web site developed in alpha five version 6
    By salah in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-26-2005, 10:35 AM
  4. Debug WEB a5w pages
    By ab042 in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2005, 11:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •