Alpha Video Training

Thread: Reporting on Expired Members

Real Name
    Steve Johnson

Default Reporting on Expired Members

Hi folks! I'm fairly new to Alpha5 (acutally, I used it a gillion years ago for a bit when I was a big dbase/fox programmer) and it really seems to be the cat's meow. Of course, I'm used to doing things the hard way, so sometimes I can't see the simple solution. I've read and reread a lot of posts and the help data, but can't seem to figger this one out:

I have a member database (set) for a website I run.

The Set is:
    Master - (demographic data)
    -> Detail (donation deatil information, date, amount, etc)
    -> Comments (general notes about the member)

This just works great for entering data and displaying it in forms, etc.

When someone makes a donation to the site, they are "members" for another year. This donation gets entered in the subform in the detail table. All this is PEACHY.

Now the crux: I need to create a report of people who have not donated in a year or more (actually, an email, but let's just try the report first). This means that I have to look at all their latest (date) donation detail record (they may have four or five each at this time) and see if it suits the critera or not, if not, then I need to spit them out on the report.

I have tried a lot of things, including writing an xbasic script that would update a field in the master file with the latest date from the detail file, I could not even figure out how to do that (with a set), but that is a whole 'nuther question.

Any help or direction would be appreciated! I someday hope to be smart enough to contribute back!

THANKS!

sj

P.S. Referencing other threads or resources that would help with this would be great, I may just be too stupid to find them.

"Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr