Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: UK Users

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Damien Harrison
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    12

    Default UK Users

    Hi i am relativley new to using Alpha 5 (v6 at mo)
    I was wondering what other UK users are using Alpha for (i am currently developing a Car Rental system for a prestige car company)

    It would be nice to hear from fellow Brits.

    Cheers

    Damien

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Ted Giles's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ted Giles
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In the Wolds, Louth, Lincolnshire, UK
    Posts
    4,366

    Default Hello fellow Brit!

    I just picked your thread up. Seems like there is just you and me in the Uk using Alpha. That's not true, I know.

    My company is Example Consulting, and I will write any sort of application, but recently a lot of complex stuff for the NHS.

    I'm on V6, and hoping for my free upgrade to V7 and the runtime kit.

    Been using Alpha since the old DOS days, and still support an app. written in version A4v6

    I have all of the releases since A4v3. Seems a bit anal retentitive, but I can offer cheap and cheerful to hi spec easily.

    One thing I've learned - use the base engine till you get used to it. It will save you a lot of time maintaining/changing applications.

    Regards, Ted Giles

  3. #3
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,695

    Default

    There are plenty of UK users, and there are plenty of UK posts here. Go back up to the main UK board screen and look at the bootom where you can sleect for which time periosd you'd like to see posts. There don't appear to be any only because they are less recent.


    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Giles
    I just picked your thread up. Seems like there is just you and me in the Uk using Alpha. That's not true, I know.

    My company is Example Consulting, and I will write any sort of application, but recently a lot of complex stuff for the NHS.

    I'm on V6, and hoping for my free upgrade to V7 and the runtime kit.

    Been using Alpha since the old DOS days, and still support an app. written in version A4v6

    I have all of the releases since A4v3. Seems a bit anal retentitive, but I can offer cheap and cheerful to hi spec easily.

    One thing I've learned - use the base engine till you get used to it. It will save you a lot of time maintaining/changing applications.

    Regards, Ted Giles

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,441

    Default

    I am in Southampton, doing everything in Alpha 5 V6 (dont need to upgrade).

    Construction company; alpha used for estimating, job control, accounts, etc

Similar Threads

  1. UK Users
    By Keith Hubert in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-12-2004, 12:10 PM
  2. 2K users try this
    By Dennis Mathias in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-06-2003, 03:48 AM
  3. Users
    By Ken Naughton in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-20-2003, 10:59 PM
  4. UK Users
    By Keith Hubert in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-12-2002, 02:51 AM
  5. Too Many Users
    By Mike Walsh in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2000, 10:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •