Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Target Window - what is it?

  1. #1
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default Target Window - what is it?

    I'm discovering the way cool Navigation System Builder and have a question...what exactly is a "target window"? It's something that isn't in any sort of drop-down "choice" list (such as a page or a grid or a list of files to chose from)...so I'm at a loss with no clue.

    Thank you,

    Wanda

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    john bowen
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Wanda:
    The target window is the window that you want to load in a Frameset. You only use this if you are using Frames in your destination page.

    John Bowen

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default Wnat is a Frameset?

    Thank you, John...can you clue me in on what a Frameset is? (No, I'm not kidding...I've not run across it and don't find anything in Help about a Frameset.)
    Gracias!
    Wanda

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    john bowen
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Frameset AKA Frames allows you have sub windows with in a main window using the <FRAMESET> tag.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default

    Thanks...I got it, now. Frameset is an html tag. I shy away from code and thus my ignorance. Thank you for indulging me :)
    Good day,
    Wanda

  6. #6
    Former Alpha Employee Edward Larrabee's Avatar
    Real Name
    Edward Larrabee
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,385

    Default

    Some information about frames is at http://support.alphasoftware.com/alp..._A5W_Pages.htm

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default

    Thank you, Ed...I'll dive into it, eventually. I'm going to post a new post that may be related...borders aren't showing up in table cells, at all. Is there a connection?
    Wanda

  8. #8
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,635

    Default

    Wanda,

    I don't use frames, but another way cool use of the target window is to have your page appear in a separate pop up window. Use the target page "_blank". (Put in the underscore, but not the quote marks.)

    Of course, pop ups have to be enabled in your browser!

    Pat

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default

    Thank you, Pat. I'm sad to admit, though, that this is just getting more and more confusing to me and I don't have a lot of time right now to go into my growing list of questions. As an example, however, in looking over the code that Jerry Brightbill wrote (and was attached to this thread), Jerry states, "...Note that there are three sections to the frame set..." Okay - I get that, but the rest of his explanation doesn't make sense: "...each contains a different page..." Does that mean that each side of a border is a separate page? (I doubt that, but that's what it seems like.) Then, later in the paragraph, Jerry refers to "..the framset page..." So, I don't have a clue if it's one page or three. To top it off, the website address indicates yet another page - "Visitlist".

    The result - worse than total Greek to me...

    What really confuses me is why, in a navigation layout, doesn't the button simply go the link indicated? My links point to different pages. Are not these pages considered "windows"? Why indicate the link to go to a specific page when apparently that's not the "window" that the grid will end up on? Do I have to write code, using frameset, just to get the link to go to the page indicated? That's what it sounds like...I just hate code!!!

    Wanda

  10. #10
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,172

    Default Using framesets

    Does that mean that each side of a border is a separate page? (I doubt that, but that's what it seems like.)
    Yes, each section is its own "page". Framesets can be very confusing and add complexity and issues, but do have their uses.

    If you have a frameset with three sections, you actually have 4 pages, or URL addresses involved. Each section contains a "page", which of course is not a full browser window size page, but just part of a full screen. The frameset itself is a page.

    To be more accurate, a "page" is just a section of html, it doesn't have to be large enough to fill the browser's window. You can have a "page" that is just a title graphic or information, and that may be the "top" frame. It would have its own page name and address. Another "page" may just be a vertical navigation or information page that is tall, but narrow. Then there may be a "main" or body "page". Each page has its own URL address and could be opened by itself, instead of inside the frames.

    To use this construction, you open the main frameset using its address. The browser, in turn, uses the information on the page to open the other "pages" using the URL for each "page" and places each in its "frame". Any action within a frame only affects the "page" in that frame. Where it gets trickly is changing one of the "pages" such as the body from a link or button in a different frame. Any such link or button must include a reference to the frame section where the new "page" should be placed.

    A good reference for any html information, including frames is http://www.w3schools.com/. Another good source is http://www.irt.org/script/script.htm which has lots of information on JavaScript, which is typically used to manipulate frames.

    So why go to all of this effort? Usually, it is more work than it is worth. However, if you only need to change information of a portion of the page, reloading just that frame can be faster and somewhat more appealing to the eye. If the title and navigation never change, reloading it on every page just slows the loading of the page. You can also change the header, for example, by just changing the code on the "page" that is loaded in that frame.

    It is also a good way to hide the URL addresses, since the browser address bar will only show the address for the main "page" which is the frameset. Another reason to use frames is that each page can be from a different source or even a different server, since each page can be loaded with a full URL address. The frameset could be loaded from a server in California, and the body section URL addresses a server in Texas.

  11. #11
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanda Tucker

    What really confuses me is why, in a navigation layout, doesn't the button simply go the link indicated? My links point to different pages. Are not these pages considered "windows"? Why indicate the link to go to a specific page when apparently that's not the "window" that the grid will end up on? Do I have to write code, using frameset, just to get the link to go to the page indicated? That's what it sounds like...I just hate code!!!

    Wanda
    Wanda, your are overcomplicating this tremendously. You asked about target windows, which folks then explained to you. If all you want to do is build a navigation system that links to a different page, leave the window setting blank. You only need to use this setting if you want to open the link in a new browser window.

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Wanda Tucker
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,444

    Default

    Hey Lenny,
    I do have a knack for over-complicating things...I'm just too darned literal, sometimes, and always have questions - used to get in trouble at school for asking too many questions - so thanks for the "gentle scolding" - LOL!
    W

Similar Threads

  1. Component Target Page question
    By ab042 in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2005, 09:57 PM
  2. date picker onchange for target
    By tojo in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 08:33 PM
  3. Target Page and GridLinker problem
    By Brett in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2005, 07:12 AM
  4. response.redirect w/ target
    By Steve Wood in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-2004, 06:01 PM
  5. Keeping record pointers on target
    By Stephen Williams in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-28-2001, 02:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •