New call-to-action
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: customize 'validation errors'

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Sieward Bosch
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    32

    Default customize 'validation errors'

    Is it possible to replace the text 'validation error' in the page that is displayed after result.errorhtml.
    If not, is there another workaround then to validate front end using javascript.
    My customers will not appreciate English messages and therefore i am looking for a way around them

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,646

    Default

    Are you working with a grid component or a dialog component?

    Different answers depending on your tool....
    -Steve


  3. #3
    Former Alpha Employee Edward Larrabee's Avatar
    Real Name
    Edward Larrabee
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,385

    Default

    You can create custom error messages for grid components.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Sieward Bosch
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    32

    Default example ?

    Could someone please post a basic example for the event
    CanUpdateRecord ?

  5. #5
    Former Alpha Employee Edward Larrabee's Avatar
    Real Name
    Edward Larrabee
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,385

    Default

    You define the custom message in the field's properties. Send me your email address and I will send you a picture of where to modify the grid.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Sieward Bosch
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Edward,

    i tried to sent you a private message, but guess i did something wrong.

    The message was:

    i have a grid with fields that should be filled.
    The field rules are not set to required.

    I have experimented and while and have transformed the Errorpage to

    Validation Errors
    Row 1: CustomText


    i have done this by inserting the following code in the CanUpdateRecord event of the grid component:

    if alltrim(DataSubmitted.OMSCHRIJVING) = "" then
    Result.Cancel = .t.
    Result.ErrorHTML = "CustomText"
    end if


    Is it possible to change 'Validation Errors' and 'Row 1' as well?
    Ideal would be when the 'Row 1' label would be nothing, so that it would look like:
    Custom Validation
    CustomText

  7. #7
    Former Alpha Employee Edward Larrabee's Avatar
    Real Name
    Edward Larrabee
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,385

    Default

    You cannot easily change these words. You would have to change the HTML of the page after it was created.

Similar Threads

  1. Customize Calendar Add-In
    By Blake in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-02-2004, 03:58 AM
  2. Customize System Toolbars
    By Peter.Greulich in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-03-2003, 03:59 AM
  3. Customize Right Mouse Button?
    By Dave Swinton in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2003, 04:39 PM
  4. customize the toolbar?
    By Marc King - A5solutions in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-29-2003, 06:30 PM
  5. customize on line help
    By crimmelcp in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-02-2000, 06:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •