Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Record List-combo-edit

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Sisson
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    56

    Default Record List-combo-edit

    Ok, my questions are getting more & more complex as I learn...

    In my MAIN datase, I have a record that is "Refering agent"

    I want to store a NUMBER in that field, but I want to DISPLAY the second field of the Database of "Refering agents"

    I want the Record list to SHOW, and let people scrole through the names. If they want to add a NEW agent, I will throw them to a new form which will ask for all the details.

    I almost have it, but the store the number rather than the name has got me...

    I know I can point the Record-list to the agent list, but how do I change what is stored vs what is displayed?

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default

    Bob

    Have you looked at the field rule lookup option for the MAIN database (actually a table)?
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Sisson
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    56

    Default Better, but still give an error

    Ok, Looking better, but after I select the name, it comes back and says "invalid number"

    I have the Form set to Record-list-combo box.

    I have the Structure set to Table lookup, Linking filed is Agent Number.
    Posting is Agent NAME with source & destination link as Agent #.

    I get an error about wrong posting table...

    I am close, but I am missing something...


    GOT IT !!! Wow..it actually works and makes sense...
    Last edited by rsisson; 04-03-2006 at 04:54 PM.

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default

    Bob

    I don't think you are using the field rules lookup option. Your comments are inconsistent with that options choices.

    I think you are doing a lot of manual work that Alpha will do for you.

    Your other post about adding a new entry into the list adds to my suspicion.

    If you are not using something that resembles the image that I've attached, please consider doing so.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Sisson
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    56

    Default Tell me more....

    Ok, you were right, my Field rules were not set up like that...

    However, I have learned that Alph5 has lots of interdependencies...

    My "Cities" list is just a list of Cities, nothing else. It is meant to keep misspellings to a minimum. (Ha !)

    So I have ..

    Lookup - Table
    Table - cities.dbf
    Linking field - Cities
    Display order - cities

    Source cities...

    User can add..
    Form to edit ..default...

    But something is still not right... When I save the Main form, it does not update the new entry into the "Cities" table. I did get one odd error I hadn't seen before... "Change must begin first"

    Somewhere I think I need to send the update to the "cities" table, and I missing that...

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default

    Time to post what you have.....
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Record List-Edit Combo Box
    By russhorn@galaxystor.com in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-01-2006, 06:37 PM
  2. Record List Edit Combo Box
    By David Brown in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-08-2003, 11:53 PM
  3. Record List-Edit Combo Box
    By David Day in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-18-2002, 09:27 AM
  4. Does anyone know-record list-edit combo box
    By David Day in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-27-2002, 05:11 PM
  5. Record List-Edit Combo Box
    By David Day in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-26-2002, 06:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •