Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: barcode printing

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard Hale
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8

    Default barcode printing

    Has anyone done barcode printing from Alpha? Do I simply need a specific font?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rhale@haleabc.com
    Has anyone done barcode printing from Alpha? Do I simply need a specific font?
    Check the newsletter archive and the code archive.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Ed Barley
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,056

    Default

    Also look at the very bottom of this window. It has "similar threads" that might help out

    Ed

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Arbuthnot
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belleville, KS
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Hi Richard,

    I've been gearing up to do this also.

    There is a 3 part lesson in the newletter archives that you should find very useful. In the first lesson there is a link to get UPC-A fonts for free. This no longer works. I've since been trying to source a free UPC-A font and haven't had any luck. UPC-A is usually packaged with a bunch of other fonts and some printing, editing software that I don't need, and the price is usually around $100.00.

    If you have any luck or if anyone out there has a free or cheap source for UPC fonts please let me know.

    BA

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Richard Hale
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8

    Default thanx for barcode info

    Thanks for the info. I will check the archives & I am have found a free Code 39 font & will continue to look for others. Thanks again for your help.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rhale@haleabc.com
    Thanks for the info. I will check the archives & I am have found a free Code 39 font & will continue to look for others. Thanks again for your help.
    Try this link .

    The company listed in the shareware copyright seems to be defunct.

  7. #7
    Member Chris.Tanti's Avatar
    Real Name
    Chris Tanti
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales, UK
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Hi, Just a reminder,

    you usually have to put an asterisc * at the begining and end of a value thats being converetd to code39.

    eg
    The value
    12345
    should be converted to
    *12345*

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Arbuthnot
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belleville, KS
    Posts
    598

    Default

    The example in the newsletter seems to have lost something thru the years. I've downloaded the UPC-A sample database. When I open the sample form in design mode and right click the upc_calc object to get to it's properties, I see in the expression builder that the following

    UPC_TO_FONT(Upc_Code)

    is an invalid expression. Anyone have any clues ???

    Bob Arbuthnot

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Arbuthnot
    The example in the newsletter seems to have lost something thru the years. I've downloaded the UPC-A sample database. When I open the sample form in design mode and right click the upc_calc object to get to it's properties, I see in the expression builder that the following

    UPC_TO_FONT(Upc_Code)

    is an invalid expression. Anyone have any clues ???

    Bob Arbuthnot
    I still have it.

    Code:
    function UPC_TO_FONT as C(orig_upc as C)
    dim symbol(12) as c
    dim position(12) as c
    for a = 1 to 12
    	position(a) = substr(orig_upc, a, 1)
    	if a = 1
    		for b = 48 to 57
    			if position(a) =  chr(b)
    				symbol(a) = chr(b+32)
    			end if 
    		next b
    	end if
    	if a >= 2 .and. a <= 6
    		 symbol(a) = position(a)
    	end if
    	if a >= 7 .and. a <= 11
    		for c = 48 to 57
    			if position(a) =  chr(c)
    				symbol(a) = chr(c+16)
    			end if 
    		next c
    	end if
    	if a = 12
    		for d = 48 to 57
    			if position(a) =  chr(d)
    				symbol(a) = chr(d+48)
    			end if 
    		next d
    	end if
    next a
    for e = 1 to 12 
    	upc_to_font = upc_to_font + symbol(e)
    	if e = 6
    		 upc_to_font = upc_to_font + chr(112)
    	end if
    next e
    end function

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default

    I have had good luck with this method - it is for code39. Super easy. Just install the attached font to any directory. Go to windows control panel -> fonts -> File -> Install New Font

    Point to the appropriate directory where you put the font and install it .

    Inside your report - just choose the code39 font for your field. Set a decent size font at first so you can see it well (Something like size 26). Be sure to size the actual field big enough in Alpha so it can display the bar code by increasing the height and width.

    Run the report and you should be all set

    Regards,

    Jeff

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Charlie Crimmel
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Has anyone gotten the UPC codes to show correctly

    Has anyone gotten the UPC codes to show correctly

    I get errors when I run the function.

    see attached jpg

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ccrimmel
    Has anyone gotten the UPC codes to show correctly

    I get errors when I run the function.

    see attached jpg
    old code from v5. Change the array notation to use [] instead of ().

    Code:
    function UPC_TO_FONT as C(orig_upc as C)
    dim symbol[12] as c
    dim position[12] as c
    for a = 1 to 12
    	position[a] = substr(orig_upc, a, 1)
    	if a = 1
    		for b = 48 to 57
    			if position[a] =  chr(b)
    				symbol[a] = chr(b+32)
    			end if 
    		next b
    	end if
    	if a >= 2 .and. a <= 6
    		 symbol[a] = position[a]
    	end if
    	if a >= 7 .and. a <= 11
    		for c = 48 to 57
    			
    			if position[a] =  chr(c)
    				symbol[a] = chr(c+16)
    			end if 
    		next c
    	end if
    	if a = 12
    		for d = 48 to 57
    			if position[a] =  chr(d)
    				symbol[a] = chr(d+48)
    			end if 
    		next d
    	end if
    next a
    for e = 1 to 12 
    	upc_to_font = upc_to_font + symbol[e]
    	if e = 6
    		 upc_to_font = upc_to_font + chr(112)
    	end if
    next e
    end function
    Last edited by Stan Mathews; 04-28-2006 at 11:36 AM.

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Arbuthnot
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belleville, KS
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Thank you, Stan! That cleaned it up...

    BA

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Arbuthnot
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belleville, KS
    Posts
    598

    Default UPC_to_Font()

    Has anyone used the UPC_to_font() function with success recently? I can print great looking UPC-A barcodes with it, but my scanners can't read what I've printed. I tried it with 2 different scanners that both read commercially generated UPC-A codes with no problem. I can print and read Code 39 with no problem.

    Bob Arbuthnot

  15. #15
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: UPC_to_Font()

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Arbuthnot View Post
    Has anyone used the UPC_to_font() function with success recently? I can print great looking UPC-A barcodes with it, but my scanners can't read what I've printed. I tried it with 2 different scanners that both read commercially generated UPC-A codes with no problem. I can print and read Code 39 with no problem.

    Bob Arbuthnot
    It works for me. How are you determining the upc to be encoded and printed? I'll have to look tomorrow at work but I think I remember having to compute the check digit and append it to the string to be encoded.

    The second parameter of CHKDIGIT() set to 2 will do that math.

    Let me know if this isn't the issue.

  16. #16
    "Certified" Alphaholic Marcel Kollenaar's Avatar
    Real Name
    Marcel
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Twente
    Posts
    1,514

    Default Re: barcode printing

    ActiveX version at this link

    Look for TBarCode.
    Marcel

    I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.
    ---- Confusius ----

  17. #17
    Member
    Real Name
    Terence Reeves
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bridlington, UK
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: barcode printing

    Hi, I have the Code39 bar code fonts. Load into your system fonts directory. Create a text field in A5, Select the code font and away you go. Saves me a lot of time and miss keying.

    Terry.

  18. #18
    Member
    Real Name
    Bob Arbuthnot
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belleville, KS
    Posts
    598

    Default Re: barcode printing

    Thanks, Stan. I was lacking the check digit. The check digit is not included or mentioned in the example from the newsletter of a couple years ago. For anyone else, the final (working!) expression is:

    UPC_TO_FONT(Upc_Code)+chkdigit("upc_code",2)


    BA

Similar Threads

  1. Barcode Help
    By Louis Campanara in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-27-2005, 08:17 PM
  2. Barcode Printing in A4V6
    By brian in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-20-2003, 01:43 PM
  3. Is this possible with a barcode?
    By Chris.Tanti in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-30-2001, 12:49 PM
  4. Barcode printing & reading
    By Joe Slinkman in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-09-2001, 05:53 PM
  5. BARCODE PRINTING
    By Nip Lewis in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-06-2000, 11:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •