Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: data entry: Argument is incorrect data type

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    tiffany new
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default data entry: Argument is incorrect data type

    Hello All,

    I am converting my office from Alpha 3 and 4.7 to version 5. I am slowly picking it up, but I keep running into simple, but confusing problems...

    1) Is it possible to query records that include symbols, like an account number with a dash or slash in it? I think I have it working through the query card. However, does anyone know if you can use the query wizard for this.

    2) I am creating new forms and reposrts for the data using the old database records (from alpha 3 and 4) as my table/set. However, when I attempt to enter information into character fields or date fields, I get an Arguement is incorrect data type error? Any idea what is going on?

    Thanks for the help.

    -T. New

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ten10ten
    1) Is it possible to query records that include symbols, like an account number with a dash or slash in it? I think I have it working through the query card. However, does anyone know if you can use the query wizard for this.
    I don't see a problem in the query genie with / or -. The \ character is a special character used to escape quotes so I think the genie is choking when it tries to parse the genie input into the underlying xbasic to run.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ten10ten
    2) I am creating new forms and reposrts for the data using the old database records (from alpha 3 and 4) as my table/set. However, when I attempt to enter information into character fields or date fields, I get an Arguement is incorrect data type error? Any idea what is going on?
    Can you attach a sample of your database or one of your tables where this is happening? Sounds odd.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    tiffany new
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default what files do you need?

    I am not sure what files you want me to upload. Do you just want a screen shot of the database, or do you want the actual database file?

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    tiffany new
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Another issue

    I am also trying to figure out how to copy the records from a query list into a new database so that they can be saved and changed independently of the first database. I have to reincorporate these into the original database at a later date, but I think I can do that by adding the table from the 2nd database back into the first one.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ten10ten
    I am also trying to figure out how to copy the records from a query list into a new database so that they can be saved and changed independently of the first database. I have to reincorporate these into the original database at a later date, but I think I can do that by adding the table from the 2nd database back into the first one.
    "how to copy the records from a query list into a new database" - you probably want design a copy operation to accomplish this (you'll have to design a delete operation if you want to remove the copied records)

    "reincorporate these into the original database at a later date" - an append operation will do this.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ten10ten
    I am not sure what files you want me to upload. Do you just want a screen shot of the database, or do you want the actual database file?
    Best would be to zip up everything in the database directory and attach it.

Similar Threads

  1. incorrect data type
    By John Haytko in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-14-2004, 05:02 PM
  2. incorrect data type
    By madtowng in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-04-2004, 11:49 AM
  3. Arguement data type
    By L W Smith in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2003, 03:53 AM
  4. Newbie needs help with incorrect data type
    By michaelklein in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2003, 07:55 AM
  5. Argument Is Incorrect Data Type
    By rtbtat in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-11-2000, 01:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •