Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: What ODBC driver is required to connect to Alpha5 Database

  1. #1
    Member Robert Rough's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robert Rough
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hamilton, Scotland
    Posts
    307

    Default What ODBC driver is required to connect to Alpha5 Database

    Could someone please advise me what ODBC driver is required to connect a 3rd party application to an Alpha5 database.
    Having searched the Microsoft ODBC helpfile for informatiom it states
    " If the driver you require isn't listed, you should be able to find it by checking the Website of Your Database Software Vendor"

    So far i have been unable to find the answer.

    Could someone from Alpha or any other well informed person please advise.

    Much appreciated.

    Robert Rough

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    23,311

    Default

    I don't think you can connect to the 'database' using ODBC. However, the tables are formatted as Foxpro 2.6 files, so the ODBC driver for foxpro should enable you to connect to tables. -- tom

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default

    Robert,

    If you (or anyone) is successful with this could you give some detail. I have had no luck using FoxPro drivers on the dbf files.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  4. #4
    Member Robert Rough's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robert Rough
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hamilton, Scotland
    Posts
    307

    Default

    Thanks Steve and Tom.

    On a previous thread I posted Stan Mathews directed me towards Foxpro as well. So I will plod along that route and see where it gets me.
    Its just that out there in the big wide world there seems to be specific drivers that link to specific type databases and I just presumed that Alpha would be able to provide this type of information.

    It seems not to be.

    Regards All and thank you

    Robert

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic Phil Rolf's Avatar
    Real Name
    Philip Rolf
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,539

    Default

    We use the ODBC to connect the UPS shipping software to our V7 tables. This is on a Win 98 system and we use "MS Visual Fox Pro Driver" We have been using it for years with no difficulties.

  6. #6
    Member Robert Rough's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robert Rough
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hamilton, Scotland
    Posts
    307

    Default

    Thank You,

    I'll give it a try.

    Regards Robert

Similar Threads

  1. Connect to Advantage DataBase
    By William R Schone in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-03-2005, 11:56 AM
  2. Connect Alpha 5 v.4 database to web with ASP
    By Shauna Swystun in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-09-2005, 09:08 AM
  3. ODBC driver
    By Brian Stein in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2002, 05:22 AM
  4. ODBC Connect to Sybase SQL Anywhere V7
    By Chet Sapino in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2002, 11:48 AM
  5. ODBC Connect from Software
    By Mark Engman in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-07-2001, 04:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •