Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Choice fields - Add to List option no different

  1. #1
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,838

    Default Choice fields - Add to List option no different

    For choice fields, I've always toggled the Not In List Rule from Add to List to Do Nothing. But I finally took a look at both side-by-side -- there is no difference that I can see. That is, it is not possible for the user to type in some new value just because you selected Add To List as the option. Does anyone know how that Add To List option is actually used to allow the user to add values?
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,838

    Default

    I received the answer from Alpha. It was my misconception on how this feature works. Add To List does not mean that the user can type in any value, and it will be dynamically added to the choice list

    It is useful only when a record field has a value that is not also included in that field's choice list. Add To List causes that value to appear -- for that particular instance -- in the choice list as an selectable option (in fact, it will be the top-most option). The value will NOT appear in the same choice list beyond that one instance (unless that situation I describe exists).

    Obviously, if your user only entered values via the choice list, the fields would never had a value that was not also in the choice list. So this pertains to fields where it is possible for the value to be different than the values in the choice list.

    If you select Do Nothing (instead of Add To List), then in the above situation, the real value will NOT appear, either in the field or in the choice list. They won't even see the true value. The user will be forced to select a value from the choice list, or abandon the page.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

Similar Threads

  1. X-Dialog GENIE - Add Colours to All Option
    By John Gamble in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-05-2006, 06:45 PM
  2. Xdialog check box list: single select option
    By Jim Chapman in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-21-2005, 02:51 PM
  3. Add option in a posting
    By dparkins in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-16-2003, 12:32 PM
  4. ADD TO DROP DOWN LIST
    By Jeff, Richards in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-01-2003, 04:00 PM
  5. List Box Choice Selection
    By Steve Buckler in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-17-2001, 10:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •