Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Printing multiple reports simultaneously

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jordan Shilts
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    42

    Default Printing multiple reports simultaneously

    The users of my Web App system are needing to print four different reports at the same time, with the cick of a button on a web page. I can't think of any easy way to do this. I was wondering if there was any way to
    A. "Append" all the reports together into one pdf, and the user would then print that from a web page.
    B. Print each report directly from the server to the printer(this is an internal web application, it won't extend beyond the same building as the server)
    C. Another method i am missing.

    The only way i can think of that will work is when they click on the link to print the reports, 4 different pages pop up with the individual reports, and they would then print each report.
    Any help is greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Printing multiple reports simultaneously

    I have not tried this myself, but you can use the PDF_APPEND() command to string the documents together, then print the final one. You'd probably need to give each document a different name, append them, then follow with the response.redirect() statement to open the file in the browser, then print.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jordan Shilts
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Printing multiple reports simultaneously

    Thanks for the suggestion Steve! I tried this using dynamically generated reports (in the session folder), got a few errors for the filename, corrected the errors, then i just got nothing. Complete A5 freeze. so then i just pasted 2 random pdf files to my desktop and tried to append one to another, using static filenames. The result was an A5 freeze. Then i discovered another forum poster having the same problem; this leads me to believe that this function wasnt intendid for a WAS, or that its simply a bug. Can a developer confirm this?

    here's the other thread:

    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ght=pdf_append
    Last edited by Jordans17x; 07-28-2006 at 06:51 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. A5v5-Multiple Shadow Refresh-simultaneously
    By NICKI004 in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2006, 03:07 PM
  2. difficulty printing multiple reports
    By Bill Maguire in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2005, 04:06 PM
  3. Opening A5V5 and A5V1 simultaneously
    By Jerri Butts in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-26-2004, 01:28 PM
  4. Printing multiple reports per line item
    By Mike Champion in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-07-2003, 12:15 PM
  5. PRINTING MULTIPLE REPORTS
    By dorseya in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-02-2002, 12:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •