Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: "Loaded" Question

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Ron Richardson
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default "Loaded" Question

    Is Alpha 5 Desktop worth the money..and is it realy that much easier and faster to develop in than MS-Access? Also, is it actually comparable 'power' wise to access?

    I have access. I have been looking for an application to meet a need thats been around for a several years and have yet to find one. I keep thinking I will sit down and develop the app using access, but I don't ever seem to have the time to deal the learning curve. Right now I use a pieced together Approach(remeber that from Lotus) database and a seperate commericial software because it gives me short term results. But I need something to handle this data long term.

    I can work with access but not at the level that the application requires and from what I have read the learning curve for Alpha 5 is a lot flatter and easier than access. I am the only one that will be using it, so webserver, multi-user, ect. is not an issue.

    Thoughts? Also, is there a listing somewhere that talks about applications others have developed? The application I need is an asset tracker, IT support request tracker, inventory tracking, serial number tracking, RMA tracking, invoicing program. I have found lots that do one or two, but not one that will do it all.

    Turkeypaw21(Ron R.)

  2. #2
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,952

    Default Re: "Loaded" Question

    You could definitely make a custom app to do what you describe with alpha -

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Arlen Troup
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: "Loaded" Question

    Just my opinion...

    A number of years ago I used Access to create some relatively simple databases. About the same time I started using Alpha Five and for me it was much, much easier to use and I could do things with A5 that I could not figure out how to do in Access.

    However, I did see a demo of an Access database developed by a group in Germany that was very impressive. Even so, I think the same application could have been easily created using Alpha Five.

    Although you can develop some good applications with only a modest amount of experience with A5 I believe you need to become proficient with the xbasic language in A5 in order to create the best applications, especially if you have some complex requirements.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    James Urbanski
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL
    Posts
    620

    Default Re: "Loaded" Question

    Is Alpha 5 Desktop worth the money.

    The trial version is FREE for 30 days. Download it and try it. Once you try it, I think you will decide to but it.

    Jim

Similar Threads

  1. Duplicating a "Parent" record complete with "Children"
    By Peterg in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-23-2006, 10:40 AM
  2. WAS & "services" question
    By Wanda Tucker in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-19-2006, 10:19 AM
  3. Logical T/F "post" field question
    By Wanda Tucker in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-26-2005, 09:28 AM
  4. "A4V7RT.NET" question...
    By prontos in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2005, 12:38 PM
  5. "Basic Data Entry" Question
    By Alan Sawyer in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-04-2002, 07:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •