Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Alpha4v7 will not launch on new PCs

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    William Feldhaus
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Alpha4v7 will not launch on new PCs

    I have used Alpha4v7 for years and although I have changed most of my apps to Alpha5 now, I still have one old app that runs on Alpha4v7. The software runs on a Microsoft network and all PCs on the network have a Windows XP operating system There are about 200 PCs that have the ability to run Alpha4v7 and only about 2-4 PCs are up and running at any one time.
    I have had no problems for years, until now. Nothing has changed with the operating system (Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 1). The computers going off lease are the same as the new ones (Pentium 4), however, the new PCs have 500 MB of RAM as opposed to the old ones which have 256 MB RAM. The CPUs were 2.26 GHz and now the new ones are 2.99 GHz. Both old and new PCs are IBMs.
    I have copied the files exactly as they were on the old PCs to the new PCs but when I start the program nothing happens. I get the usual lines:
    printdump.exe spool\ptrinfo.a4
    start winagent "|path=spool | delete=yes|keep_req=no"
    but then nothing else happens. The program instantly closes.
    Everytime I install the program on the older PCs the software works but the it will not work with the new PCs.
    To me this suggests something wrong with the settings in XP or something outside of Alpha. The older PCs have worked fine for years but now are going off lease and I need to move the software to the newer ones. The program will be replaced in a year with new software so I hate to recreate it in Alpha5.
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks
    Bill

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    William Feldhaus
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Alpha4v7 will not launch on new PCs

    We may have found the problem ourselves. When the latest Windows update was applied to our new PCs the program quit working. However, the PCs that were one month old or older, and did not have this update, had no problem running Alpha4v7. Our information technology department is working on a possible fix.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    TJ Baker
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Alpha4v7 will not launch on new PCs

    We may have found the problem ourselves
    Might I ask what you think the trouble is??

    I was recently working with the batch files that start Alpha4 and ran into situations where at the same point you describe during the startup process, rather than crashing/closing, the window simply stopped proceeding further. At the moment I cannot remember what I deduced was the issue, but I did work past it.

    TJ Baker

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    William Feldhaus
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Alpha4v7 will not launch on new PCs

    Thanks for the response TJ, I believe we found the problem. Our hospital uses over 500 PCs (which are all leased) so an imaging process is used to create the basic operating system and essential programs for each PC. Our leased PCs retained Windows Service Pack 1 on the images which were installed on all of the new machines. When the latest Windows update came out, Alpha4v7 did not work with the Service Pack 1 image. However, when Windows Service Pack 2 was applied to the PCs that ran Alpha4v7 the program suddenly started working. So there is the solution.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with the launch of my ship...
    By smrogers in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-06-2006, 07:27 AM
  2. A5V4 won't launch in XP
    By Ed Barrett in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2005, 07:41 AM
  3. XP Pro a4v7 launch
    By Alf Fantham in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-2004, 06:47 AM
  4. Alpha 5 support for tablet PCs?
    By Michael J. Nester in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-05-2004, 05:52 AM
  5. Launch V5 Runtime application
    By Fred Daniel in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-17-2003, 07:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •