New call-to-action
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Upgraded computer

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    john fletcher
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    brisbane australia
    Posts
    13

    Default Upgraded computer

    Dear All
    This maybe a real stupid question...but...
    I've Just upgraded my computer I am and trying to transfer things across i.e. A5V7 ...How do I move the license number etc...?:)

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default Re: Upgraded computer

    You didn't say if you still have the license number written down or if the old computer is still running. If the old computer is still running, you can get the license number by going to Help / About.

    Once you have the license number (reg number?), just copy the files to the new computer. The first time you start A5 you should be prompted for the license number.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    brett sinclair
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    858

    Default Re: Upgraded computer

    John, no it's not a stupid question. It's a very good one.

    Now it's a while since I did this but as I recall the A5 registration is done on computer name. So if your new/upgraded PC still has the same name then A5 should register itself OK a second time. You just install A5 as per normal. You can change the computer name (My computer/ Properties/ Computer name) either before or after you install A5.

    I am sure others will share their ideas with us here too.

Similar Threads

  1. upgraded from a4v6 to a4v7 and cant print
    By brj117 in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-2006, 11:54 AM
  2. Upgraded Forum Software
    By AaronBBrown in forum Forum Usage
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2005, 01:11 PM
  3. Help!!!, Upgraded to 1466_1044
    By Jim Stermer in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-02-2003, 10:25 AM
  4. Upgraded to XP and Stacks won't Work
    By Scott Bailey in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-24-2002, 02:55 AM
  5. You guys win, I upgraded again
    By Anthony Lazzaro in forum Announcements
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-27-2002, 07:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •