Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Alpha 5 could be used to update data from a MySQL database and show in a browse?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    LOUIS
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Alpha 5 could be used to update data from a MySQL database and show in a browse?

    I was asked to write a program for network users. I have MYSQL installed on a Linux Machine on a local network. I find it hardly to have the data shows on the form that I want. I was wonder if Alpha 5 could be used to update data from a MySQL database and show in a browse?

  2. #2
    Member Mario Prieto's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mario Prieto
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Las Cruces, NM
    Posts
    364

    Default Re: Alpha 5 could be used to update data from a MySQL database and show in a browse?

    You'll have to connect to mysql using DSN and then you have to use ADO commands to get yur data.
    Data can then be shown on a XDialog that may look like a browse.

    They also sell the enterprise reporting add-on. I am not sure if it will allow you to do what you want, but you may check it out.

    Hope this helps.
    The Mexican

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    LOUIS
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Alpha 5 could be used to update data from a MySQL database and show in a browse?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mario Prieto View Post
    You'll have to connect to mysql using DSN and then you have to use ADO commands to get yur data.
    Data can then be shown on a XDialog that may look like a browse.

    They also sell the enterprise reporting add-on. I am not sure if it will allow you to do what you want, but you may check it out.

    Hope this helps.

    Thx. I have mysql connected to the Alpha 5 programme. I was wondering if there is a way that I could create a dummy table and get the records I wanted to show in a form other than the XDialog ADO format??

Similar Threads

  1. Append Data from Another Alpha Database
    By forskare in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-06-2006, 12:44 AM
  2. MySql ADO data source
    By gbaschuk in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-12-2006, 02:47 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-11-2006, 10:03 AM
  4. Take home data then update master database upon re
    By hooshyforchy in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-18-2003, 09:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •