Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

  1. #1
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,832

    Default QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Has anyone used the QODBC driver found at www.qodbc.com for READ/WRITE functions? I am using the web server version of this OBDC driver. I cannot get it to display data in Alpha, let alone write information back to QuickBooks.

    I'm not referring to the QReportBuilder which uses a READ ONLY driver to import QuickBooks data to static Alpha tables. I think that works fine.

    2nd question; anyone used the QuickBooks SDK to make direct calls to QB from Alpha using xbasic? QB has a massive committment to this SDK and it looks doable if I can convert the VB examples to xbasic.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,601

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Al Bucholz is the resident expert on this stuff, I think. He's usually around here but if not, check in with him.
    -Steve


  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,607

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Thanks Steve for the compliment.

    I've been offline for a few days. - good stuff - an actual vacation.

    I'll be talking with Steve Woods soon and we'll post the results here..
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,832

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    On a different thread, that I cannot find, someone asked me to follow up with FlexQuarters about using QODBC to read/write to QuickBooks from the Alpha Web App Server (because I could not make it do so). I finally got an answer from FlexQuarters that there "definitely an issue [with the ability to write] ... and we expect to fix by late March.".
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  5. #5
    VAR
    Real Name
    Mike Reed
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    664

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Hi Steve and Al,

    I am looking forward to what you guys have to say about QODBC/RW. I have a couple of customers who want that ability, but I haven't been to help them yet. I have purchased the driver, but haven't had much success with it yet.

    Thanks in advance,
    mike
    Mike Reed
    Phoenix, AZ

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,832

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Both Al and I are planning to follow up.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,607

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Mike

    Coming to the conference? There'll be a couple of talks related to QB integration... (so I hear...) ;)
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Jeff Fried
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    589

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Al,

    Being that you have the reputation for being the QODBC guru, and my having explored this subject with great pain recently (due to a 3 GB QB 7 Enterprise file), I succeeded at doing most of the initial exports of data (imports into A5) but have come to a roadblock based on field name lengths. Here is where I'm wondering if you have run into this.

    As far as I know, the field name length max permitted in A5 (including V8) is still 10. QB fields have long names, up to maybe 40 characters. For example, in the QB table SalesOrderLine, there is a field SalesOrderLineGroupItemGroupRefFullName. Additionally, there are 43 fields that begin with SalesOrderLine, and what happens when QODBC is applied in A5 is the names are truncated to salesorde0, salesorde1, salesorde2,...salesord10,etc. What happened, though, is it stopped at salesord23 even though there are 43 of them. To complicate it further, there are two fields with the names SalesOrderLineOther1 and SalesOrderLineOther2. You find this out by downloading the detail specs from the QODBC web site.

    In addition, after the import into Alpha, there are also several fields with the field type of <unknown>.

    After running into all this, I wonder how Alpha can handle the QODBC driver. It seems, at a minimum, that there needs to be a provision for handling long field names. I looked at Visual Foxpro as a possible tool (though I would prefer to use A5), and it, too, has a field name length limit of 10 for free tables. However, if you set up tables in a VFP database, you have a field name length limit of 128 characters, which would satisfy the need for this part of it.

    Before I venture into the VFP direction for the solution, I wanted to exhaust all possibilities with A5. Are you familiar enough with QODBC and its use with A5 to know about these limitations? You had earlier mentioned that A5V8 handles QB import better in the enterprise version (which I don't have at this time), but my understanding is you still need to buy the QODBC driver separately, so it's the same one I have, and I'm guessing there is still a 10 character field name limit.

    What say ye?

    Jeff

  9. #9
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,607

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Jeff

    Dbase has the 10 char fieldnamelength, but not A5. I don't recall what it is, but it's in the 27 to 32 char range.

    When I import from QODBC, I get most of the fields handled properly. Some fields (but very few) are too long for A5 and they are truncated.

    I've not run into a real problem with it yet.

    I'm not sure how you are only getting 10 char fieldnames. When I use ADO import, DAO import, or passvice linked tables, I get the longer fieldnames.....
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Jeff Fried
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    589

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Al, you're absolutely right. I was looking at the file in Visual Foxpro thinking it was the way it was imported into A5, since I used A5 for the ODBC import. I went back to A5 to look at the imported file and voila, all looks right.

    Thanks for waking me up.

    Jeff

  11. #11
    Member
    Real Name
    Jeff Fried
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    589

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Al, one more thing I forgot to mention. The reason I wasn't thinking about A5 having a longer fieldname length is that I have always defined my field names to no more than 10 characters. I do this for compatibility reasons (Foxpro, third party report writer, etc.). It didn't occur to me that A5 is allowing longer field names.

    Jeff

  12. #12
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,607

    Default Re: QODBC R/W - anyone used this?

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Wood View Post
    Both Al and I are planning to follow up.
    Yes this is a late follow up. My apologies.

    The issue that was id'd by Steve was resolved prior to the conference, but I am tardy on posting an update to this thread.

    I am successfully reading from and writing to QB from Alpha 5 desktop and Alpha 5 Application Server.

    Please ensure that you have QODBC version 7.0.0.214 (or later). It works with a5v7 or a5v8 enterprise edition - I suggest a5v8 in case other issues may arise - a5v8 can/will be patched but I doubt that a5v7 will be.

    In that regard, I do have clients successfully working in both a5v7 and a5v8.

    If anyone has an issue with a5v7 or v8 with QODBC please post a new thread or email me with any questions.

    tks
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Importing in RunTime Version? (using QODBC)
    By Ellenu in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2006, 10:37 PM
  2. A5 - qodbc - Quickbooks
    By David in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-14-2006, 11:57 AM
  3. Use QODBC (or other) to send data to Quickbooks?
    By Bill Warner in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-10-2005, 11:27 PM
  4. QODBC Quickbooks query
    By pstaver in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2005, 12:10 PM
  5. Anyone using Alpha Five v6/QODBC/Quickbooks SDK?
    By David Vaughan in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-02-2004, 05:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •