Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Runtime and shadow database.

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Coltz
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Western Pennsylvania
    Posts
    600

    Default Runtime and shadow database.

    Is anyone able to refresh or create a shadow database from the runtime version? I'm getting an error message that that says that it can only be done through the Professional or Enterprise Edition??

  2. #2
    VAR Dan Blank's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dan Blank
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    995

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    Which version of A5v8 did you purchase, and which version of the Runtime did you purchase?
    Dan

    Dan Blank builds Databases
    Skype: danblank

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Coltz
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Western Pennsylvania
    Posts
    600

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Blank View Post
    Which version of A5v8 did you purchase, and which version of the Runtime did you purchase?
    Professional Edition and Standard 3 user runtime.

  4. #4
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,957

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    I just got the runtime, and have the same problem. I recall specifically asking if I bought the Enterprise version of development, could I use the runtime with the "standard" and the answer was yes - so long, of course, as I didn't use features not available in the standard runtime. The idea, of course, is that I can deveop for anyone and distribute to anyone - the above assumed.

    Can anyone else confirm?
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Rui Carvalho
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    I am having the same issue with runtime (non enterprise) V8, build 1257, Addins 3055 on Windows Vista.

    However, I am able to create a shadow database using the Professional Edition V8, build 1257, Addins 3055.


    Rui

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Coltz
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Western Pennsylvania
    Posts
    600

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    I received a reply from Selwyn today stating that he sees the problem and it will be fixed in the next patch. He sent me some code as a temporary fix that will allow me to refresh the shadow but I still cannot create a shadow from the runtime. Hopefully the alpha team will get a patch out to us soon. I wonder why they didn't allow a pre-release of the runtime to those of us who paid for it. We might have been able to catch this up front.
    Last edited by Jim Coltz; 02-18-2007 at 03:07 PM.

  7. #7
    Member Bob Whitaker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Bob Whitaker
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Sutton-Coldfield, UK
    Posts
    695

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    Can I add my voice to the list of people who need this fixed urgently.

    Bob Whitaker

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,445

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    Yes I found exactly the same error, quick fix is set a new version no in network optimise a new version with your enterprise/pro version of alpha. On the network start up your old runtime version and let it update, then startup runtime version 8 and it works. (here anyway)

  9. #9
    Former Alpha Employee Brett Johnston's Avatar
    Real Name
    Brett Johnston
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    Hi Everyone,

    Below is a link to a page where you can download a beta patch for the runtime issue described in this thread.
    Release notes have also been included so you are aware of what bugs have been addressed.

    http://downloads.alphasoftware.com/a...chdownload.htm

    Please note that this is a beta patch, and we expect to release an official patch early next week.

    Thanks

    Brett Johnston
    VP of Sales and Service

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Jim Coltz
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Western Pennsylvania
    Posts
    600

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    Thanks Brett, I appreciate this so I can try out the runtime over the weekend. Please pass along my thanks to the whole Alpha team for working so hard to get us what we need in such a responsive fashion.

    Great product, great service, great value. Even the President of the company, in addition to the VP's sends emails out all hours of the day and night and even on the weekends. These are rare qualities in this day and age. Your entire company can be proud of your products and your service. Keep up the outstanding job.

    --Jim

  11. #11
    Member Bob Whitaker's Avatar
    Real Name
    Bob Whitaker
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Sutton-Coldfield, UK
    Posts
    695

    Default Re: Runtime and shadow database.

    I can only echo Jim's sentiments - well done the Alpha Team.

    Bob

Similar Threads

  1. Shadow Database
    By devingray_2000 in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2006, 06:13 PM
  2. Shadow Database
    By devingray_2000 in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-19-2006, 09:43 PM
  3. Preparing a Runtime Installation to use a Shadow Database
    By Daniel Weiss in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-24-2006, 10:22 AM
  4. settings to runtime shadow
    By martinwcole in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-17-2004, 01:01 PM
  5. shadow database
    By Steel Potter in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-17-2002, 07:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •