Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Sending Email

  1. #1
    Member Rayr's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Roosa
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    427

    Default Sending Email

    Hi All,
    Hew host their own email server in-house and what are you using?

    I am not having any luck sending mail with A5v8 threw my Microsoft Exchange Server, I have tried everything but I cant send mail.
    Kind Regards,
    Ray Roosa
    Raylin Micro, LLC.

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,630

    Default Re: Sending Email

    I use the EMAIL_SMTP_SEND() and related functions in several locations without problem.

    Maybe give us some more details about what you're doing/using/trying?
    -Steve


  3. #3
    Member Rayr's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Roosa
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Workings View Post
    I use the EMAIL_SMTP_SEND() and related functions in several locations without problem.

    Maybe give us some more details about what you're doing/using/trying?
    I give up, I have been trying to use our Microsoft Exchange Server for sending mail from A5v8 and everything I try fails so I signed up for a free GMail account and google allows you to send mail using outlook and other mail client software, I setup Alpha with the mail setting for google and we still cant send a test mail because it fails see below for Error-

    "Connect to Outgoing (SMTP) Server failed:
    The hostname might be incorect or the server may be down.
    WSAECONNREFUSED - Connection refused while connecting.
    Detailed Description:
    No connection could be made because the target computer actively refused it.
    This usually results from trying to connect to a service that is inactive on the
    foreign host—that is, one with no server application running.
    Kind Regards,
    Ray Roosa
    Raylin Micro, LLC.

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Ray

    I think by default MS Exchange server does not use the POP3 or SMTP protocol. You can enable it as an option.

    There are instructions on the MS website to do this..
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  5. #5
    Member Rayr's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Roosa
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Buchholz View Post
    Ray

    I think by default MS Exchange server does not use the POP3 or SMTP protocol. You can enable it as an option.

    There are instructions on the MS website to do this..
    Hi Al,
    I have tryed everything and could not get it working on exchange, I also cant get it working with Gmail and that uses smtp/pop
    Kind Regards,
    Ray Roosa
    Raylin Micro, LLC.

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default Re: Sending Email

    A quick look at gmail - I don't use it - tells me that pop needs to be enabled separately..
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  7. #7
    Member Rayr's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Roosa
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Buchholz View Post
    A quick look at gmail - I don't use it - tells me that pop needs to be enabled separately..
    Al,
    Yes and I did that but still fails, I setup outlook with all the Gmail setting and it works so I know I am not doing anything wrong with the settings.

    Al would you mind setting up a free gmail account and trying A5v8 to see if you get it working cause I can't?
    Kind Regards,
    Ray Roosa
    Raylin Micro, LLC.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Russ Boehle
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: Sending Email

    We use Lansuite from 602 Software. It's simple and has lots of features. We don't yet use it with Alpha but it does everything else we could ask. I think it's also still free for a 5 user license to try it. We tried a few others before settling on this one due to it's flexibility. We also use their antivirus scanning which has worked pretty well.

    Russ

  9. #9
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Ray

    It does work using a5v8 with gmail.

    You need to change a few defaults to make it work though.

    Gmail has help that will work you through it. I setup an account, connected with another email client - Thunderbird - and then used those same settings with a5v8 to make it work.

    Note the ports are not default or the the security.

    pop.gmail.com port 995 SSL
    smtp.gmail.com port 587 TLS

    http://mail.google.com/support/bin/a...y?answer=38343
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  10. #10
    Member Rayr's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Roosa
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Buchholz View Post
    Ray

    It does work using a5v8 with gmail.

    You need to change a few defaults to make it work though.

    Gmail has help that will work you through it. I setup an account, connected with another email client - Thunderbird - and then used those same settings with a5v8 to make it work.

    Note the ports are not default or the the security.

    pop.gmail.com port 995 SSL
    smtp.gmail.com port 587 TLS

    http://mail.google.com/support/bin/a...y?answer=38343
    Al,
    Thank you for taking the time to test for me, I used the setting you used and all worked good I only get one error see below-

    "Test e-mail send failed:
    530 5.7.0 Must issue a STARTTLS command first h20sm6218036wxd

    Al just so you know I am not going crazy take a look at the link below for setting up outlook for GMail you will see the setting for smtp and pop both use SSL and not TLS for out going mail thats what fixed my trouble :)

    http://mail.google.com/support/bin/a...y?answer=13278
    Last edited by Rayr; 03-17-2007 at 11:24 PM.
    Kind Regards,
    Ray Roosa
    Raylin Micro, LLC.

  11. #11
    Member Rayr's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ray Roosa
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Quote Originally Posted by russ Boehle View Post
    We use Lansuite from 602 Software. It's simple and has lots of features. We don't yet use it with Alpha but it does everything else we could ask. I think it's also still free for a 5 user license to try it. We tried a few others before settling on this one due to it's flexibility. We also use their antivirus scanning which has worked pretty well.

    Russ
    Hi Russ,
    Thank you for your feedback, that looks like a very nice email server, my MS Exchange Server does everything we need but I was having trouble using SMTP for sending mail but Al has helped me setup Google GMail (a free service) to send mail from A5.

    Update-
    I have now got Alpha sending mail threw my Exchange Server, I hade to tweak the smtp server to allow Alpha to send mail without authenticating with exchange.

    Thank you all for your help on this.
    Last edited by Rayr; 03-18-2007 at 12:46 AM.
    Kind Regards,
    Ray Roosa
    Raylin Micro, LLC.

  12. #12
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Ray

    Sounds like you have it solved.... You should be able to use MS Exchange, but only after the needed changes....
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Hutchinson
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Sending Email

    No matter what I try with Gmail, I still come up with the following message:

    Test e-mail send failed:
    530 5.7.0 Must issue a STARTTLS command first. c23sm3098144ana.8

    I've tried both SSL with 587 & 995 and TLS with 25 & 110... it doesn't matter, the same message still appears.

    Is there any fix for this? Does A5V9 fix this problem or are we stuck with a product that's crippled?

    Thanx for your help... Hutch

  14. #14
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,644

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Quote Originally Posted by hutch427 View Post
    No matter what I try with Gmail, I still come up with the following message:

    Test e-mail send failed:
    530 5.7.0 Must issue a STARTTLS command first. c23sm3098144ana.8

    I've tried both SSL with 587 & 995 and TLS with 25 & 110... it doesn't matter, the same message still appears.

    Is there any fix for this? Does A5V9 fix this problem or are we stuck with a product that's crippled?
    Are you referring to gmail or Alpha as crippled?

    I haven't tried gmail in awhile, but have used live mail and it works from there. I think you can use your gmail account in live mail too.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Hutchinson
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Sending Email

    To tell you the truth I'm not sure what's broken but Gmail seems to work ok with everything else I throw at it including The Bat and Thunderbird. All I know is I can't access my Gmail accounts with A5V8 and one of those accounts is used with a mailing list which I desired to use Netmailer with.

    Didn't even know what live mail was until I did a search... I believe I'll pass on Microsoft offerings. ;)

    Netmailer/A5V8 gives me the capability of personalized email and that's what I wanted to use with Gmail but, it looks like that may have been a waste of money in that regard. I can still use it with Yahoo with TLS and will do so for another mailing list I'm getting ready to start. Oh well, guess I'll use what I have and watch for a fix in A5 sometime in the future.

    Thanks for the input... Hutch

  16. #16
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Try turning off your anti-virus software. Had a similar problem recently with a customer who uses gmail and that solved the problem - which proved it wasn't my program's fault.

    At this point I don't know what else was done. I suggested she work with her IT guy to change the setting in the anti-virus to ignore Alpha5.exe but haven't had any further feedback on it. (Reading this message was a reminder that I really should check.)

  17. #17
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Hutchinson
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Sending Email

    Nope, turning off the anti-virus and firewall software didn't do the trick either. Looks like I'm stuck using Yahoo for any automated mailouts... that's a shame because the Gmail accounts are POP3 capable while remaining free of charge.

    Thanks for your help... Hutch

  18. #18
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default Re: Sending Email

    I see Al B already listed the ports and SSL/TLS settings. (These are critical - the normal defaults will not work.)

    Did you also set the SMTP Authentication to "Use same settings as my incoming mail server"? If memory serves me right, I don't think "Outgoing server does NOT require authentication" will work.

  19. #19
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Hutchinson
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Sending Email

    I read the previous messages and all of Gmail's help text. Yep, I tried every conceivable combination of settings but nothing worked right. No matter what I did, if TLS or SSL was in the mix, the following message popped up:

    530 5.7.0 Must issue a STARTTLS command first. c23sm3098144ana.8

    As popular as Gmail is, I'm surprised Alpha hasn't taken the time to address this problem, or at least post something about working on a fix. But, from what I understand, the problem is fixable in custom set ups through code so they're probably not too concerned about those like me that are trying to use the stock program to do needed taskings.

    I made the mistake of purchasing Netmailer before I had fully tested Alpha's communications capabilities but, I can still use it with Yahoo's system. It just grinds me that I have to use it with a pay system in order to use it all. :(

    Thanks for your efforts... Hutch

  20. #20
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Cal Locklin
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    S.E. Michigan
    Posts
    5,763

    Default Re: Sending Email

    I'm shocked that you're having so much trouble with it. I have used it on my system (mostly for testing because I don't use gmail for my normal mail) and I have 3 users who use it - with A5v9. In fact, they specifically set up the gmail accounts because I told them they couldn't use their Yahoo/Hotmail accounts with my application. (Of course, when I told them they needed a POP account the reaction was something like, "Huh?")

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2008, 07:04 PM
  2. Sending email to many
    By superdave in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-07-2006, 05:12 PM
  3. sending email
    By Lost in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2006, 05:22 AM
  4. Sending Email
    By Angie Boutin in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-15-2003, 08:31 AM
  5. Sending Email
    By alicemay in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2002, 01:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •