Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Dean Storer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1

    Default “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    I have been using Alpha4 (now alpha4v8) for the past 8 years to manage patient contacts in my medical practice.

    It’s a pretty basic database primarily consisting of a “patient information” table (name, date of birth, phone numbers, note/memos, insurance info, etc.) linked to a “contact” table (type of contact, time, date, memo/notes of contact, etc).

    I realized I finally have to upgrade to Alpha5 to use it with our new Vista laptops and have downloaded the trial version to see how difficult it will be to convert. I know I have to rebuild the forms, field rules, reports but I can’t even get started. When I try to open my main “patient information” table, I can browse and view the individual form. However when I try to edit the structure, change field rules, change indexes or change it in any way I get the message -- “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.” I’m stumped! The other tables open just fine and I'm able to edit them. Any suggestions? I hate the thought of starting from scratch and loosing the ability to view the past 8 years of data...

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Gary Z
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    Help on this would be good. I'm running an upgrade from really old databases as well and I can view some of them but I can't create anything new from them.

    Can't view or create sets or browses. Thread subject is the error message when trying.

    I'm pretty new in the whole environment of Alpha but I'm already pretty sure I have to start entirely from scratch. Can anyone confirm or deny?


    edit: Sorry for bumping this one...I see the others now. I was going to try this Maintenance thing but the "Apps" tab was non-existent.

    edit2: For those with the best grasp on all of this--would it actually be BEST for me to just start over? The customer and job databases are rather enormous so it's not ideal but if I were to remake everything, should it not append very easily assuming I use the same field names?
    Last edited by idkwhatimdoing; 04-30-2009 at 05:58 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Doug Page
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    963

    Default Re: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    I've never seen this error message before but as you are trying to upgrade from A4 to A5 I might suggest not copying the indexes over and just try recreating them.

    You sort of have another question in there about having to redo everything. Data files - no. Forms, reports, etc - yes.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Gary Z
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    Ahhh. Thank you. I've been thinking that would be the case. Even some of the data files seem to be non-transferable. I'm not upgrading from 4 to 5 but the version of 5 is really old. I believe it to be 3.1.

    I just tried defining indexes on the old databases and that brought up the same error. It seems like I will have to re-enter everything.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Doug Page
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    963

    Default Re: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    I think that the error is just showing you that there is som corruption in your data. I would bet that for a little investigation this could be easily overcome. Also, you could try to export the data from your previous version of Alpha (I would try .csv) and then import into v9.

    PS. The reason I (and anyone else reading your post) thought that you were upgrading from A4 is because you posted this message in the "Upgrading to Alpha Five from Alpha Four" Forum.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Gary Z
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    Yeah, I know the distinction wasn't easily made because of that, it's just that there was already a thread in here with the error's title and I didn't see anything similar and didn't know which board was most appropriate.

    I do believe at one time that we went from A4 to where I'm at with A5v3.1.

    And I will try exporting the old data when I get access to the computer it's on, thank you.

    I do appreciate your help.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Gary Z
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    Whoa...whoa. Okay, so I exported the fields from an old database that I wanted for a new one into both Excel format and Ascii format and used the Excel one to import it. Now there is a problem for numbers that never had decimals have 5 trailing zeroes.

    !!! But using find and replace i was able to nullify all the zeroes. My only concern now is that new entries will treat all the unused character spaces the same and put a decimal and trailing zeroes. I tried editing field rules but I couldn't figure out how to make my own "mask."

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    Whoa...whoa.

    My only concern now is that new entries will treat all the unused character spaces the same and put a decimal and trailing zeroes.
    What does this mean? What data type is the field (character or numeric)?

    Alpha is not going to put trailing zeroes in new entries of a character field. If it is a numeric field, change the field definition. (Right click on the table name in the control panel, choose Edit structure)
    There can be only one.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Gary Z
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    That's bizarre. I just looked at the structure and all fields are set as Character fields. They're set to allow 11 characters in the field I'm referring to which is set to be numbers (no calculations necessary).

    I just checked though by adding a new record and it doesn't have an auto-fill kind of rule set so it just took what I put in and left it without adding zeroes. It had them in 3 fields where numbers were put in upon importing them but now it seems to be cleared up.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Adamn
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: “Error Unable to open compound index occurred while trying to start application.”

    can any one help me?..... i am having the same problem.....

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to open application across network
    By Rich Hartnett in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 04:25 PM
  2. Unable to open compound index
    By David White in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2007, 06:34 PM
  3. Unable to Open Compound Index
    By garyc@pcmagictech.com in forum Alpha Five Version 1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2006, 07:49 PM
  4. Error-Unable to resynch on index
    By Tom Payne in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-15-2003, 06:53 AM
  5. Unable to Open Compound Index Error Message
    By Daryl Mosier in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2001, 03:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •