Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Adam Drake
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

    Here is what I want to do...never used alpha before..ever.

    Have an install of alpha 4v7 on old server - is running fine - what utility do I use to backup everything out of it - export it to a file format, and I have alpha 4 v 7 (another install) on a windows server 2003 server - and import that file into that install... please help. Willing to paypal money if someone helps me with this.

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Keith George
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Near Penzance Cornwall UK
    Posts
    205

    Default Re: Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

    Hi Adam,

    All you should need to do is copy the whole folder containing your data files onto CD, then copy them back onto the new PC, the same goes for the Alpha program, you should be able to copy Alpha from one machine to CD and from CD to the other machine, all should work fine.

    Good luck,

    Keith

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Adam Drake
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

    Well - basically the company in all there wisdom - literally threw me there old server - yoinked it out of the environment, anyways when I attempt to launch the alpha.exe utility located in the alpha4v6 share - I recieve an error that says

    Lan error: reading LANPACK A4v6.net file

    This is duplicated on the new server - sinec I did at first attempt to just throw the flat flies on there..

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,597

    Default Re: Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

    Adam,
    Only your data files need to be in a shared folder on the server. The program files should be on the local cpu(s).
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Adam Drake
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

    Everything is on that shared folder... whomever installed this before probally knew just as much as me from the looks of it.


    I have a new install of alpha4v7 on it, anyway I can transfer the data over to that? Or what should I do?

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Adam Drake
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

    Nevermind - I see that each and every user was executing an exe from there local PC - when I run it from that tree - it executes just fine - now how do I backup the data that is on the share and relocate it to the new server?

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,597

    Default Re: Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

    Adam,
    If you have a flash drive or a CD burner, you can zip the whole data folder and just unzip into the same named folder on the server. I do this from a local cpu. Since you have the program files on the old server, you can make your zip thru Alpha.

    Opps, I just saw that you have ver 4.7 not ver 5. Do you have a zip utility like Winzip? That's what I get for going to new posts...
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Adam Drake
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

    Update - everything is fixed...figured it out - just need to find out how to change the default location of where its looking for the directories... Dont know how to do that yet.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,563

    Default Re: Backing up Data on Alpha4v6 and alpha4v7

    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Are you backing up your data in A5?
    By Rayr in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-19-2005, 01:42 PM
  2. Backing Up Data and then Deleting it
    By Douglas Wells in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2002, 06:03 AM
  3. Alpha4V6 to Alpha4V7
    By Marty Hiller in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-03-2002, 12:13 PM
  4. Backing Up Data
    By Laurence D Simon in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-14-2002, 10:27 AM
  5. ALPHA4V6 AND ALPHA4V7
    By Andy Poarch in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2002, 06:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •