Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 403 forbidden

  1. #1
    Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,592

    Default 403 forbidden

    I have a customer that used to be able to get to his web site, but now can't. He gets this message:

    >403 Forbidden
    >This server is not licensed.
    >This server cannot process requests without a valid server license
    >installed and activated.
    >
    >To purchase a different server license, visit the Alpha Software
    website
    >at http://www.alphasoftware.com/


    Clearing his cache & history and trying from another computer gives the same results. We've triple-checked that he's using the correct URL.

    Several others of us can get to the site with no problem. He gets this message whether he tries an .A5W page or even an htm page that's "always allowed" in the security framework.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks!
    -Steve


  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,680

    Default Re: 403 forbidden

    Steve, that is a very specific error condition and the license enforcement is done before the security framework comes into play.

    There must be some difference between the way this customer is accessing the site and the way you are. Are you both using the exact same URL? Have you tried accessing it by IP address instead? Have you checked the server logs to confirm that the customer's connection is in fact reaching the correct server instead of being routed elsewhere by DNS, a proxy server, etc?

    Lenny Forziati
    Vice President, Internet Products and Technical Services
    Alpha Software Corporation

  3. #3
    Guest
    Real Name
    Gary Fletcher
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    162

    Default Re: 403 forbidden

    I am getting something different, but similar error. I have a new application that has been added to my account location with FirmSupport which has recently been converted to the V8 server. My new application is done in V8 and has been uploaded when I try to access I get the following:
    401 Unauthorized
    The security settings for this server are missing or incomplete.

    Pages that are uploaded do not require a login. I have set security setup and uploaded. What am I missing?

    Gary

  4. #4
    Former Alpha Employee JerryBrightbill's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jerry Brightbill
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    5,171

    Default Re: 403 forbidden

    If you published anything to the server, the security files you created locally would be published to the server. The first page request should load those settings. If in doubt, you can force a publish from the Web Security Menu "publish" option.

  5. #5
    Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,592

    Default Re: 403 forbidden

    I should have posted a followup here.

    Lenny was right - the customer had some internal stuff pointing to the wrong IP address.
    -Steve


  6. #6
    Guest
    Real Name
    Gary Fletcher
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    162

    Default Re: 403 forbidden

    Quote Originally Posted by JerryBrightbill View Post
    If you published anything to the server, the security files you created locally would be published to the server. The first page request should load those settings. If in doubt, you can force a publish from the Web Security Menu "publish" option.
    Using my external FTP program I can see security files published. -Gary

  7. #7
    Guest
    Real Name
    Gary Fletcher
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    162

    Default Re: 403 forbidden

    This issue has been resolved. It was not anything with the software but some confusion about the location of the new V8 on FirmSupport when we moved accounts.

Similar Threads

  1. Directory browsing forbidden
    By Pat Bremkamp in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-14-2006, 01:53 PM
  2. 403 errors when trying to access preview page
    By the aviator in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2005, 05:26 AM
  3. Upgrade to Patch 403 ?
    By Daniel Earley in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2001, 08:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •