Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 27 of 27

Thread: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Hello all

    At the moment I run my own EPOS application and it runs flawlessly.
    I am thinking of deploying Quickbooks as my accounts application.

    My question is how easy is it to get Alpha to talk to Quickbooks so as to update stock control levels.

    Regards

    John

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    John

    It is very easy with the QODBC driver. Very seamless integration can be achieved. There was great demonstration of this at the recent conference. Al Buchholz is the resident expert around here using it. I have not done so yet but I will be using the QODBC driver to integrate with my application in the next month or so.

    Regards,

    Jeff

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Jeff

    Do you know if alpha can lookup a quickbooks file or do you have to import the data into alpha and vice versa.

    I hope this makes sense

    John

  4. #4
    VAR csda1's Avatar
    Real Name
    Ira J Perlow
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    3,530

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Hi John,

    ODBC, and Specifically, QODBC are live connections to the data between Alpha 5 and whatever the ODBC driver is designed for. So the answer is that there is no importing, it is operating on the live data.
    Regards,

    Ira J. Perlow
    Computer Systems Design


    CSDA A5 Products
    New - Free CSDA DiagInfo - v1.39, 30 Apr 2013
    CSDA Barcode Functions

    CSDA Code Utility
    CSDA Screen Capture



  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Hi Ira

    Thanks for the reply

    My ability is limited to field rules and action scripting.

    Are you saying that my EPOS application will be able to lookup stock for a sale and then deplete the stock level by the quantity sold by looking directly into a quickbooks file

    Regards

    John

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Quote Originally Posted by John Keogh View Post
    Are you saying that my EPOS application will be able to lookup stock for a sale and then deplete the stock level by the quantity sold by looking directly into a quickbooks file?
    Yes it can.

    btw - Jeff - thanks for the plug..
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Hello Al

    Is this an advanced feature or will someone like me with limited ability be able to achieve a result

    John

  8. #8
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Quote Originally Posted by John Keogh View Post
    Hello Al

    Is this an advanced feature or will someone like me with limited ability be able to achieve a result

    John
    John

    That's a tough question. I don't know your ability, but you can do most of it in action scripting and then finalize it in xbasic.

    The first step that I suggest to anyone doing this is to work through the process manually. Do the Alpha steps and then use Quickbooks to do the things that you need it to do by typing in the information directly into Quickbooks.

    Once you are satisfied that this does what you want, then we can look at how this can be automated.

    Start with action scripting and SQL statements.

    What you are looking to do can be done.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Thanks for the input Al

    My ability is action scripting and field rules and a little bit of xbasic. Ultimately I get the result I need in the end. I use the script recorder to work out my xbasic steps and trawl through the message board for my advanced answers.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    I am going to download the simplist version of qickbooks to see if I can achieve my goal. Also looking into the driver need for alpha

    Regards

    John

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Fred Daniel
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    251

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Al, how do you get the QODBC driver? Is it built into V8?

  11. #11
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Al

    Thanks for the link.

    I now feel I will get a result on my own

    Regards

    John

  13. #13
    Member
    Real Name
    Glenn Peterson
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    403

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Just an FYI, QODBC can't get at budget information directly ....

    Glenn
    Last edited by peterg000; 06-12-2007 at 05:47 PM.

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Fred

    I think you have to buy that from Alpha.

    I still have to figure that bit out myself

    Regards

    John

  15. #15
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    hi Glenn

    What do you mean by "budget information".

    This is an expression I'm not familiar with in the UK, maybe I will have a different name for it.

    Regards

    John

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Glenn Peterson
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    403

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    If it doesnt ring a bell with you, then probably not something you need to worry about, but to see where you would enter/view this data ... in quickbooks, look under "Company" -> "Planning & Budgeting" -> "Setup Budget" .... this allows you to set up budgets vs actual for the year. QODBC depends on Intuits sdk, and as of today, Budget info is still lacking in the sdk. They try to get around this with report data, but not the same thing as direct access to the actual budget data. For alot of people, doesnt matter .... for some, a big deal.

    Glenn

  17. #17
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Thanks Glenn

    Its not going to matter for me. I think.

    All I want to do is to get my EPOS app to talk to stock levels presently in Alpha but will be moved to quickbooks

    Regards

    John

  18. #18
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Quote Originally Posted by John Keogh View Post
    Fred

    I think you have to buy that (QODBC?) from Alpha.

    I still have to figure that bit out myself

    Regards

    John

    John/Fred

    The QODBC product is purchased directly on the website from Flexquarters - the company that developed QODBC.

    You can download a 30 day trial and work with it prior to the purchase. The trial limitations are the 30 days and a limited number of writes to the Quickbook tables. The write limit is removed when a valid license is entered.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  19. #19
    Member
    Real Name
    John Keogh
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Thanks Al

    Now I know where

    John

  20. #20
    Member
    Real Name
    Steve Pick
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    340

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Hi guys, Some of the language about SQL is above my head. Can I put the situation more simply. In Alpha I have a file PARTNUM.DBF with 27,000 records with 23 fields and about 6MB of data.

    How easy is it to export it to QBs. I assume QBs has a file, or quasi file, for Part Numbers. At least that is what I remember when I last looked at this 7 or 8 years ago.

    Is there a copy or export in Alpha or do I need this http://www.qodbc.com/ package. Is it as simple as issuing a SEND or COPY and then selecting those fields and records to be copied.

    Steve

  21. #21
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Pick View Post
    Hi guys, Some of the language about SQL is above my head. Can I put the situation more simply. In Alpha I have a file PARTNUM.DBF with 27,000 records with 23 fields and about 6MB of data.

    How easy is it to export it to QBs. I assume QBs has a file, or quasi file, for Part Numbers. At least that is what I remember when I last looked at this 7 or 8 years ago.

    Is there a copy or export in Alpha or do I need this http://www.qodbc.com/ package. Is it as simple as issuing a SEND or COPY and then selecting those fields and records to be copied.

    Steve
    Steve

    Many of your questions are answered at these links:

    http://www.bookwood.com/learningcenter.html

    http://www.qodbc.com/


    To simply import your product data into QB, you can use a csv export from Alpha and a QB import (with a mapping that you describe) within the standard Quickbooks product. See the menu - file - utilities - import - excel files(csv option within the file types). Customers, vendors, parts, and accounts can use this QB option.

    If you want a more interactive approach, or you want to put transactions into QB, then I suggest using QODBC and action scripting AlphaDAO options that are shown in my 2007 talk on my website's learning center link - shown above.

    That will give you a start into the process.

    We had a great session(IMHO) at the 2007 ATEC conference. :)
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  22. #22
    Member trackmanpete's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pete Schuder
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Mansfield, MA
    Posts
    592

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Al:
    Is it possible to have an Alpha v8 program that does estimates on an off site computer and then import that information into the Quickbooks estimator without overriding the earlier Quickbooks estimates posted. I am looking to see if I can use a second computer out of the office, with no networking possibilities available, that can be used to enter estimates on a project and then import that data into the Quickbook estimate file on office computer. I am new to Quickbooks, but have learned from their online discussion group that this seems to be a shortcoming of Quickbooks. Sounds like a job for Alpha 5.
    "Ollie, remember how dumb I used to be? Well, I'm much better now."

    Pete

  23. #23
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Pete

    I haven't worked extensively with the estimating system within QB, so I can't speak to the issue that you have mentioned.

    It is certainly possible to use A5 to add new or update existing QB estimates.

    Do you have a link to show the issue that you are referring to?

    Edit:
    As far as the offsite computer, it's an issue of how the code runs to interface to Quickbooks. When I want an immediate update, I add code to a field rule record cansave event. Otherwise I put it on a button to be push at the operator discretion. The third way is to have a batch process that reads records to be processed and then sets a field with the updated indicator them.
    Last edited by Al Buchholz; 10-17-2007 at 08:32 PM. Reason: off site computer
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  24. #24
    Member trackmanpete's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pete Schuder
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Mansfield, MA
    Posts
    592

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Al:
    Thanks for your reply. I did a little more digging and came up with this. Seems there is a utility offered for sale that can do what I was concerned about. I was hoping to learn how to use Alpha to do it.

    http://www.quickbooksgroup.com/webx/...ata%20File/784
    "Ollie, remember how dumb I used to be? Well, I'm much better now."

    Pete

  25. #25
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Pete

    Reading a Quickbooks table can be done with a passive linked table.

    Writing to a Quickbooks table can be done by starting with an Alpha DAO action script and modifying it to handle your situation.

    You'll need Alpha 5 Enterprise and QODBC read/write.

    You may want to read my paper from the Las Vegas conference to help with some of the concepts.

    http://www.bookwood.com/learningcenter.html

    Or email me / post questions on this board.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  26. #26
    Member Bill Broyles's Avatar
    Real Name
    William Broyles
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clarkston,WA USA
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Al,
    Will this work with Quicken? I would like to print checks with A5V8 and post to Quicken. Can that be done?

    TIA

    Bill

  27. #27
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Quickbooks and Alpha Talking To Each Other

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Broyles View Post
    Al,
    Will this work with Quicken? I would like to print checks with A5V8 and post to Quicken. Can that be done?

    TIA

    Bill
    Intuit is the company that makes Quickbooks and Quicken.

    QODBC uses the Intuit SDK(Software Development Kit) to access Quickbooks. Intuit has not made an SDK for Quicken and has not announced any plans to make one. So Intuit has closed the doors on program access to Quicken.

    It is an easy upgrade/conversion from Quicken to Quickbooks.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Alpha 5 - Quickbooks
    By David Aery in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-11-2004, 06:30 AM
  2. alpha linker to quickbooks
    By Richard Rabins in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-24-2003, 06:14 AM
  3. alpha five linker to quickbooks
    By Richard Rabins in forum Alpha Five Versions 2 and 3
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2003, 02:36 PM
  4. Alpha Five instead of Quickbooks?
    By Jesse Vickey in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-19-2002, 10:30 AM
  5. talking to QuickBooks or Peachtree
    By Tom Inloes in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-28-2000, 01:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •