Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Grid Component Search on SQL Server Logical field

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Lawrence Ding
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default Grid Component Search on SQL Server Logical field

    I'm trying to get the Search in the Grid Component to search against a logical field in an SQL Server backend. The search seems to be able to return results on the '0' or 'False' condition but not when the condition is '1' or 'True', even though there are records in the table with the 'True' condition.

    I've tried creating a completely new table with a few test fields and a logical field but it seems to behave the same as above. I've also tested the Search within Grid Component against a logical field in an Alpha Five database and it seems to work fine. So it appears to be isolated to an SQL Server environment.

    I'm quite new to Alpha Five so am not sure whether this is a "feature" or whether it's a bug. Can anybody verify that this is working or not on their system?

  2. #2
    Member Frances Peake's Avatar
    Real Name
    Frances Peake
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: Grid Component Search on SQL Server Logical field

    Quote Originally Posted by ldconsultants View Post
    The search seems to be able to return results on the '0' or 'False' condition but not when the condition is '1' or 'True', even though there are records in the table with the 'True' condition.
    Try -1 instead of 1 for True. - Francie

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Lawrence Ding
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Grid Component Search on SQL Server Logical field

    Hi Francie, thanks for your reply. I tried as you suggested but '-1' only returned the same results as '0'. Putting in a '1' returns no results at all and searching with a blank field will bring up all records (true and false records). Any other number (positive or negative number) seems to bring up the results for '0'.

    When using the query filter, the logical fields seem to work fine. It only seems to go a bit astray in the search facility of the grid component.

    I've found a work-around by changing the logical field on the SQL Server to a single letter text field but just had to work a bit harder to get the display formats, etc correct.

    Lawrence

Similar Threads

  1. Grid component field validation (date field)?
    By Hansolo in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2006, 11:21 AM
  2. Search and Grid - Horizontal layout in web component
    By chandran in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2006, 12:29 PM
  3. Calculated field in grid component: refresh ?
    By mronck in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2005, 12:37 PM
  4. Grid component search part?
    By David Brown in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2005, 07:43 PM
  5. Search in logical field
    By René Stout in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2004, 10:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •