Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Discrepancy problem

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Niniel Elvengreen
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Discrepancy problem

    I have found a perplexing issue in a older A5v1 database I'm trying to convert - when I open one of the dbf file, go to the "Views" tab, click on "Browses" and
    then "Default Browse", and then maneuver to the last record, in the left
    bottom corner of the A5 status bar it says "Record: 25246". Yet further
    to the right, after "c:*.dbf" and "Record_No", it shows "25248".
    The export function also reports a total of 25248 records exported, so that probably is the correct number.
    Does anybody have any idea what's going on and how big of a problem this really is?
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Discrepancy problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Niniel View Post
    I have found a perplexing issue in a older A5v1 database I'm trying to convert - when I open one of the dbf file, go to the "Views" tab, click on "Browses" and
    then "Default Browse", and then maneuver to the last record, in the left
    bottom corner of the A5 status bar it says "Record: 25246". Yet further
    to the right, after "c:*.dbf" and "Record_No", it shows "25248".
    The export function also reports a total of 25248 records exported, so that probably is the correct number.
    Does anybody have any idea what's going on and how big of a problem this really is?
    Thank you.

    Could the default browse be filtered by a recent query which is excluding some records?

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,785

    Default Re: Discrepancy problem

    Or the current order for the table is something other than record order and the record 25246 is the last record according to the current order.
    Tim Kiebert
    Eagle Creek Citrus
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Niniel Elvengreen
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Discrepancy problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Stan Mathews View Post
    Could the default browse be filtered by a recent query which is excluding some records?
    I don't think so, but I'm not certain. How can I check that?
    I had assumed the default browser is just the way to look at the raw data in the tables.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Niniel Elvengreen
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Discrepancy problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Kiebert View Post
    Or the current order for the table is something other than record order and the record 25246 is the last record according to the current order.
    If so, is there a way to reset that?

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,620

    Default Re: Discrepancy problem

    Do a control I to look at the index/query that is currently displaying the records for the browse.

    If there is more that one choice, pick the one that you desire, or pick the <Record-Number Order> (default)

    Hopefully that works in V1, or there is something in the menu options that allows you to choose the index/query... It's been awhile since I've used v1, but the DOS version had the same type of choice...
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Niniel Elvengreen
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Discrepancy problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Al Buchholz View Post
    Do a control I to look at the index/query that is currently displaying the records for the browse.

    If there is more that one choice, pick the one that you desire, or pick the <Record-Number Order> (default)
    That's just what I did. :)
    Turns out the index was a bit out of date [a saved query was even further off] so rebuilding that took care of it.
    As did changing the order from index to "record number order".

    Thank you all for your replies, they turned to be quite helpful.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,785

    Default Re: Discrepancy problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Niniel View Post
    If so, is there a way to reset that?
    I am only familiar with A5v5 and onward so don't know about the user interface in v1. but in the versions I work with you can use ctrl+I to invoke the Select Index/Query dialog. Then choose <record number order>.

    If that is not the same in v1 then hopefully some of the veterans (alpha veterans that is) will chime in and help out.


    Edit: oops, too late. Thanks Al.
    Tim Kiebert
    Eagle Creek Citrus
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Niniel Elvengreen
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Discrepancy problem

    I clicked on the funnel-like icon.

    Thank you, Tim.

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tom Henkel's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tom Henkel
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,874

    Default Re: Discrepancy problem

    In version 1, it was a little easier. When in the browse, just type "I" and the index selector will come up. Choose your index, and off you go.

    Tom

Similar Threads

  1. Date problem US/UK formatting. Resurrecting old problem
    By Robert Rough in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-06-2007, 03:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •