Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Transition from A4V7 to A4V8

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul Orloff
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Transition from A4V7 to A4V8

    Have used A4V7 for many years and have scripts and reports that work and took a long time to create. Have been told that Alpha5 will not support anything more than basic databases and was told to buy A4V8 for better compatibility with XP. When copying databases from A4V7 to A4V8 (by copy/paste in Windows Explorer), the data and reports transfer but the scripts do not. Can I copy the scripts as well?

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Transition from A4V7 to A4V8

    The scripts can be copied also.

    Make sure the the script location is set properly in the target system.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Paul Orloff
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Transition from A4V7 to A4V8

    Al Thank you and I'm glad there is hope. Unfortunately, I don't know how to set the script location in the target system. Also, is copy/paste from Windows Explorer an acceptable way to copy data from A4V7 to A4V8?

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Transition from A4V7 to A4V8

    Go to the A4 control panel - ie main menu - and look at the bottom of the screen. There is a list of options to choose from regarding scripts. As I recall it involves F3 and variations of it or something close to that.. Alt F3 - Set script path....

    You can copy A4 files from one directory to another with windows explorer.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Transition from A4V7 to A4V8

    the easiest way is
    1 make a backup of your data base
    2 Open this back up with version 8
    every thing will be there (i think)

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,628

    Default Re: Transition from A4V7 to A4V8

    Quote Originally Posted by mmaisterrena View Post
    2 Open this back up with version 8
    every thing will be there (i think)
    If you change the location of the scripts, you'll need to set that via the Alt F3 - Set script location option. Or there is a command line option too..
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. A4v7 or A4v8 For Sale?
    By Dave McClain in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2007, 11:06 AM
  2. Upgrade A4V7 to A4V8
    By intewedm in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 05-05-2006, 12:48 AM
  3. Some transition issues from version 5
    By monsieurms in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-25-2005, 09:42 PM
  4. A5V5 to V6 transition
    By Mark Sorensen in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-27-2004, 06:07 AM
  5. a4 v3 reports transition
    By dennis Mitchell in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2002, 09:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •