Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Original 401 Error Now 403 Forbidden Error?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Sherri Heyde
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Original 401 Error Now 403 Forbidden Error?

    To anyone who can assist.

    I've been reading the message boards where some individuals are having difficulties with the 401 Error... I did have this error until I unchecked "enable security framework" on the server application...

    Now I'm back to the 403 Forbidden Error..This server is not licensed for remote access. This server can only process requests from the same computer on which it is running by using the URL http://localhost/. To purchase a different server license, visit the Alpha Software website at http://www.alphasoftware.com/

    I tried to contact support in regards to this problem. Reason was I just purchased this license .. thinking that they would assist me in properly getting the license to work correctly.

    What we did was stop the server, deactivate the license, reactive the license, restart the server, reboot the server.

    I'm still coming up with the same error.

    I've followed the link http://support.alphasoftware.com/alp...o_a_Server.htm .. pretty much to a T...

    My files are properly moving from my workstation to the server.(to the best of my knowledge) I also have the guid.sercuritysettings, project.securitysettings, pages.securitysettings and the websecurity files.. that I noted were mandatory files... NOTE.. I did have the "enable security framework" checked for some time and received the 401 error.. until I unchecked it I now get the 403 error.

    I don't know what I'm missing.

    Just some history.. I purchased the Alpha5 V8 Pro edition and have been working on that for some time to make sure that I had my web design layed out and working the way I wanted it too.

    Last week I then purchased the Alpha5 Server Basic edition with the intention of being able to access the web pages remotely. Thus, it's not working properly.

    If someone can assist me, I would greatly appriciate it.

    Thanks in advance.

    Sherri

  2. #2
    Alpha Software Employee Lenny Forziati's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lenny Forziati
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Alpha Software
    Posts
    4,680

    Default Re: Original 401 Error Now 403 Forbidden Error?

    Sherri, how did you try to contact support? I don't see anything in the support queue. You should call customer service at 800-451-1018 for help with this. We'd be more than happy to help you get this working.

    I can't really help you here because my first question would be "What is your license number?", which is not information you want to post publicly.

    Lenny Forziati
    Vice President, Internet Products and Technical Services
    Alpha Software Corporation

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Sherri Heyde
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Original 401 Error Now 403 Forbidden Error?

    Lenny:

    I called a 1-800 # and spoke with a person by the name of James. Not for sure if that will assist you with anything or not... Just FYI...

    I'll call into the number that you gave me..

    Thanks

    Sherri

Similar Threads

  1. 403 Forbidden - Again
    By Steve Workings in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 11:27 AM
  2. 403 forbidden
    By Lance Gurd in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2007, 02:11 PM
  3. 403 Forbidden
    By Dan Blank in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 10:39 PM
  4. 403 forbidden
    By Steve Workings in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-25-2007, 03:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •