Alpha Video Training

Thread: Upload File on A5W page

Real Name
    John Burt

Default Upload File on A5W page

I am placing a table component on an A5W page. One of the fields is to hold a file that I want to upload from a local drive to the A5W page. On the component side, I cannot designate the field as an upload field. On the A5W side, there is an upload form button to drop on the page, but I have no Idea how to tie the form upload button to the field on my table that I need to hold the file. The bigger problem is that I have no programming knowledge. Is there a way to do that without writing code?

Real Name
    Steve Wood

Default Re: Upload File on A5W page

You can easily add an Upload field type to a Grid, but you will have to write code in the A5W page in order to process the upload.

To add the field, add a calculated field under Query as simple as this Upload="". The variable name is irrelevant an not used anywhere.

Add the new Upload field to your Grid and in Properties select Freeform. In freeform, add this line:

Code:
    <input type="file" name="FileToUpload" size=80>
    When your A5W page runs, a variable named FileToUpload will exist and expect a filename.

I'm going to stop there for now. Please look at the Alpha Help on Uploading a File for instructions on what goes in the A5W page. Its a bit daunting but worth reading to get started understanding what happens to that variable. Plus I am supposed to be doing this for a client right now and I should get to it. I can write it up after I finish that client's work.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

Real Name
    John Burt