Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Missing database info

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Jon Waymire
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default Missing database info

    Ok, my company is using Alpha4v2. I don't really know much about it, but we are having issues with data. When I go to open a database, it shows that the records are there, but when I go to view them all I get is a blank sheet. Any ideas on how to make those records visible again? All the other databases are fine, it's just this one in particular. Thanks

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Missing database info

    Not that I know anything about the version you are using but the problem is likely that there is a filter in place controlling the viewable/accessible records.

    See if you can find a menu option to remove the filter or "show all". Possibly there is an option to set the index back to record number order

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Jon Waymire
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Missing database info

    Ok, when I turned the filter to inactive, the records did show back up. So now the question is why when the filter was active it worked, and just now failed? Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Doug Page
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    963

    Default Re: Missing database info

    What failed? You just told us that you made the filter inactive and your records were there. What else did you do to say that it "failed"?

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Jon Waymire
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Missing database info

    All the database's were set to an Active filter. All the records were viewable and had no problems. What could of caused the records in one database not to show, but when I changed the filter to Inactive, they records showed back up again. It's just odd, because now I have one of like 30 databases that has filter to inactive, but the rest are Active.

  6. #6
    Member dpawley's Avatar
    Real Name
    David Pawley
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Missing database info

    Jon, in another post you state you are running A4v2 on XP, this is not supported and will corrupt your data.
    Dave

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Jon Waymire
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Missing database info

    I see. That would explain random occurances. Odd though there have only been a couple problems with it on xp since it's been on there for years now. What OS would v2 work best with? Thanks

  8. #8
    Member dpawley's Avatar
    Real Name
    David Pawley
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Missing database info

    Jon, I'm am not sure on the OS with v2, but until recently I was supporting a multiuser A4v3 application. It ran fine on both windows 95 and 98, I probably prefered 98. You may have problems running either on current hardware as their may not be drivers available but would most likely have more luck with 98.
    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. A4 to A5 Database Info
    By Fancy Plants in forum Upgrading to Alpha Five from Alpha Four
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-26-2006, 12:40 PM
  2. Report Preview Missing Info
    By RandallRoss in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-21-2004, 11:45 AM
  3. form design and missing set info
    By Patrick Browne in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 05:02 AM
  4. Loosing Info from database
    By ian wood in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-10-2003, 07:21 AM
  5. zipcode database with county info
    By Jim Coyle in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-16-2001, 12:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •