Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is "sucks" too strong a word for...

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Bill Jordan
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    279

    Default Is "sucks" too strong a word for...

    describing one's opinion of the A5 search engine, when it's borne of frustration?

    I won't go through every iteration I tried, but all I'm trying to do is find out how to advance to the next year (as in, when in December and scheduling for January, the year now defaults to the next year).

    I know I've seen threads on this before (there are probably dozens) but none of my search words even gets me in the same state, let alone neighborhood, of threads with relevance.

    I'd assume I must be a total dumbass ("that's Dumas..." Tim Robbins speaking with redneck character in The Shawshank Redemption) except I'm quite capable of narrowing the focus of my search when I'm, say, Googling something.

    Thanks for listening and Happy New Year (pun intended) to all:cool:

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Is "sucks" too strong a word for...

    Are you perhaps speaking of the bulletin board (vBulletinĀ® Version 3.6.8) software used to host this forum? Hardly Alpha's issue.

    you might want to direct your comments to

    http://www.vbulletin.com/

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,620

    Default Re: Is "sucks" too strong a word for...

    Bill

    Yes it's too strong a word....

    Have you tried using the google site: option to use the google search engine to search the Alpha message board?

    ie,

    site:msgboard.alphasoftware.com change year

    as your search criteria?

    Or install google toolbar to help with other search options that are available....
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Michael Payton
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    294

    Default Re: Is "sucks" too strong a word for...

    Perhaps not too strong a word... but regardless... it's certainly misdirected.
    "all things should be as simple as possible... but no simpler"

    Mike

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Bill Jordan
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    279

    Default Re: Is "sucks" too strong a word for...

    I guess my tongue-in-cheek humor wasn't as obvious as I thought. :o

    However, I did not know it wasn't Alpha's own message board of their own making (how would I, or anyone else for that matter, when it has what appears to be their logo?)

    Anywho, my apologies to Alpha if this isn't something they oversee, or have input in.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,024

    Default Re: Is "sucks" too strong a word for...

    Bill,

    You can download it for your own site and for a fee, get your logo put on it or at least the right to do it yourself. Used it on a peewee football sight I made for them. Was a nice touch, but couldn't keep the riff-raff out.

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. A "Continue" for the "While" statement in XBASIC
    By brett s in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-13-2008, 06:02 AM
  2. "copyto" and "conditional masks"
    By martinwcole in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-23-2006, 12:41 AM
  3. Duplicating a "Parent" record complete with "Children"
    By Peterg in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-23-2006, 10:40 AM
  4. Previous not "locked" to "Auto"
    By Richard Froncek in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-2003, 01:03 PM
  5. Word "tables" in V5?
    By shaun in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2002, 05:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •