New call-to-action
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

  1. #1
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,849

    Default pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    Neat pseudo-collapsible navigation menu in V8:

    http://screencast.com/t/PKwTL7EgQbm

    I was trying to achieve the behavior in Outlook's Navigation Pane. It flickers a bit when changing menus.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    ken doucet
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Posts
    195

    Default Re: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Wood View Post
    Neat pseudo-collapsible navigation menu in V8:

    http://screencast.com/t/PKwTL7EgQbm

    I was trying to achieve the behavior in Outlook's Navigation Pane. It flickers a bit when changing menus.
    Thanks for this Steve, and it reminded me to revisit Jing too :)

    Ken

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,656

    Default Re: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Wood View Post
    Neat pseudo-collapsible navigation menu in V8:

    http://screencast.com/t/PKwTL7EgQbm

    I was trying to achieve the behavior in Outlook's Navigation Pane. It flickers a bit when changing menus.
    You're showing us, but not telling us how you did it.

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Francis Dizon
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    404

    Default Re: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    i'll second that peter because my form flicks big time. it doesnt look good to me.

    steve, tell us how...

    thanks
    Francis

  5. #5
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,849

    Default Re: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    The menu is a normal docked toolbar. The options to open another menu are just simple xbasic that closes the current menu and opens the new one, like this:

    ui_modeless_dlg_close("NavMain")
    a5_toolbar_open("NavReports",.t.)

    Where NavReports is just another docked toolbar. Trick is you have to ensure each menu is exactly the same width or the rest of the page will shift right-left.

    As I said, this method still causes some screen flicker during the transition. Selwyn offered some advice on using Conditional areas to remove all flicker. But that takes building the toolbar outside of the custom tool Alpha has for building toolbars and puts you in to creating an xdialog. So, not sure where I will head.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    Steve,

    I watched it a few times and did NOT see any flicker...but as you stated, any variation in size is noticeable and I do see small differences between your toolbar sizes---maybe that is what you are referring to as a "flicker"?

    (nice BTW!)


    Edit--maybe on the last toolbar shown--the yellow one--it seems to load itself to the right of the other toolbars (about 2 inches over) and then go to where it is supposed to (just a faint image).
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Francis Dizon
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    404

    Default Re: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    steve,

    i have two toolbars and they have the same width and yet, the form shifts to the right during transition to another. can you post an example?

    BTW, how to change the color of the button while mouse pointer on top?

    thanks

    oh, is it possible to overlap a toolbar? i mean one toolbar on top of the other..
    Last edited by fddizon; 01-19-2008 at 08:45 PM.
    Francis

  8. #8
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,849

    Default Re: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    That shift to the right is the flicker I am talking about. I'm on a very fast computer*, so I suspect it would be more noticable for others. The color is just because I selected a color on the 2nd tab of the toolbar builder. I could not find any way to overlap toolbars, even if the first was hidden. They always docked to the left of any existing toolbar, even if hidden. I found it hard to control toolbar width. None of the xdialog commands seemed to be accurate, I had to place text on all pages that dictated the width (that's the only reason each menu has "Close All Windows" on each toolbar; it sets the maximum width.

    *Brand new, just out of the box. Since I am the proud father, here are the stats: Dell Precision 2.4 GHz Core II Duo, 4GB Memory, Mirrored 160's and 2 - 21" digital flat screen monitors.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Robert W. McGaffic
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    577

    Default Re: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    Steve,

    Very nice work.

    I thought you might also be interested in another way to create a collapsible navigation menu as described in my posting "Open form executes for OnPush event for button, but errors on DblClick for tree".

    It has some work to go, but brings some big league type functionality to an Alpha Five application.

    Bob
    Pittsburgh

  10. #10
    Volunteer Moderator Peter.Greulich's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Greulich
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    11,656

    Default Re: pseudo-collapsible navigation menu

    Quote Originally Posted by rmcgaffic View Post
    ... in my posting "Open form executes for OnPush event for button, but errors on DblClick for tree".
    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...Click+for+tree

Similar Threads

  1. Navigation Menu
    By Phil Rolf in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-03-2008, 05:08 PM
  2. Navigation Menu Font
    By LMOTCOB in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 06:58 PM
  3. Frames & Navigation Menu
    By Phil Rolf in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-08-2006, 02:32 PM
  4. Navigation Menu
    By Cheryl Lemire in forum Web Application Server v6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2005, 05:26 PM
  5. Runtime - Menu and Navigation
    By Lynda Huddleston in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-09-2004, 09:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •