New call-to-action

Thread: MySQL back-end with Alpha Five front-end?

Real Name
    Greg Roy

Default MySQL back-end with Alpha Five front-end?

I am new to Alpha Five. I purchased it for various reason (reporting, etc..), But, now I need to create an inventory application and my first inclination is to go with a SQL back-end like MySQL (it that really possible, or do I have to use the native .dbf format?)

I would have multiple users 10 -20 in at the same time. Doing Inventory check-in, picking, shipping etc...

I realize these details are fairly light. But just trying to get a feel for the fit for this purpose. I am going to be evaluating small WHMS, but I have a preference for creating the app to fit our needs not vice-versa.

Thanks,
    Greg

Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings

Default Re: MySQL back-end with Alpha Five front-end?

Hey everyone! We got ourselves another convert!

Welcome!

Alpha, of course, works well with other back ends. I don't know that you have a specific reason or reasons to use something other than the .dbf. And without hearing more from you, my first take is that the .dbf will handle your needs just fine.

There's a discussion at the top of the Database Design part of this message board that's of related interest. And, of course, the links at the bottom of this thread.
    -Steve

Real Name
    Dave Mason

Steve Workings knows more than I do about this.

pretty much, If you are only going to have that many users and all local, you will be better off with native tables. If you plan on making a web app later, you might think about sql, but I believe it unecessary. I have close to 20 running now and one forum regular has in the hundreds on a lan.

Others will chime in if i am wrong, but I believ you can use the native dbf files on your own server even with sql(not sure about the sql part). i am working on that now and hope to complete a web side app soon similar to the app i have and a lot more.