Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    John Smith
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    13

    Default How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application

    I'm looking into using Alpha 5 . I would like to know or be pointed in the direction of how to bring data into a desktop application when the data was originally entered in a form on the web. Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application

    if the web application was in Alpha Five, then the desktop and web databases are the same format. You can just copy/move the web tables to your desktop location and open.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application

    To expand on what Steve says....since they are the same format you can also create Hybrid Apps where the desktop app can directly see the data entered from the web side and vice versa. That is, there is only one set of data tables that both the web and desktop side can use. I am currently doing this on two applications and it works slick.

    Regards,

    Jeff

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application

    BTW, welcome to Alpha and this board! It is great software!

    This board is one of the best sales features Alpha has over other products. Lots of good info here as well as folks willing to help when you get stuck.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    John Smith
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application

    Quote Originally Posted by jkletrovets View Post
    To expand on what Steve says....since they are the same format you can also create Hybrid Apps where the desktop app can directly see the data entered from the web side and vice versa. That is, there is only one set of data tables that both the web and desktop side can use. I am currently doing this on two applications and it works slick.

    Regards,

    Jeff
    Thanks Jeff,
    Sorry for taking so long to reply. I wish to also thank you for your response.
    That leads to a couple of questions:
    1. Do you host your own web databases and are they on the same server as your desktop solution is hosted.
    2. Also it seems that you're saying the same tables are being accessed on both the desktop and the web?
    3. Finally where can I find the best resource on best practices for the web/desktop setup.

    Thank you,
    Richard Hyams

  6. #6
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application

    1. Do you host your own web databases and are they on the same server as your desktop solution is hosted.
    2. Also it seems that you're saying the same tables are being accessed on both the desktop and the web?

    If you host it locally you can share the database between your web app, and your desktop app. This has been coined a "hybrid". Or you can host anywhere you can rent a VPS or dedicated server, or with an Alpha host such as www.zebrahost.net.

    3. Finally where can I find the best resource on best practices for the web/desktop setup.
    Check my website for starters, I have a bunch of articles and resouces listed for developers.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Jeff Kletrovets
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: How To Import Data From Web Application Into Desktop Application

    Hi Richard

    1. Do you host your own web databases and are they on the same server as your desktop solution is hosted.
    Yes, we are hosting the site so it has access to the network drive where the desktop data resides.

    2. Also it seems that you're saying the same tables are being accessed on both the desktop and the web?
    Yep, that is exactly what is happening.


    3. Finally where can I find the best resource on best practices for the web/desktop setup.
    Unfortunately, I can't offer a concise direction to point you. I guess I got there from just reading on this board and playing around. I did just find this on Alpha's site by putting Hybrid in the search box.

    http://www.alphasoftware.com/AlphaFi...ions_01_01.asp


    Regards,

    Jeff

Similar Threads

  1. Logging into WAS application from Alpha Desktop
    By Rick Gerlach in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 07:35 PM
  2. Load a desktop application from application server
    By pcsamrjc in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 07:09 AM
  3. ADO - desktop application
    By Susie in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 03:38 PM
  4. Tablet PC/Desktop A5 Application
    By Andy Dibble in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-25-2004, 12:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •