Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Memo field will not update

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Michael Hult
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default Memo field will not update

    I just installed Alpha 5 version 3.01 on XP Home. Then I created a simple table with one character type field and one memo field. In a new form I have the two fields. I can type data into the memo field but when I move to the character field the data in the memo field disappears. If I just open the table to enter data, I have to click on the pencil to pop up a box for entering data into the memo field. Then when I click on the save button the box goes away but nothing is in the memo field. What am I doing wrong that I can't enter and save data in the memo field? I saw a thread about the FPT file might be read only but I checked that and it is not.

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Memo field will not update

    Michael,
    Obviously your post got buried as usually a post is answered long before this...usually when this happens it is because there is not enough information for others to help. I like to have a sample database zipped and uploaded into a post so that I can use a more hands on appraoach to solving a problem--it eliminates much of the guesswork that goes on without such a sample.

    In this case it could be something as simple as a field restriction, a field rule preventing a record from saving,.......

    Anyway, not a good thing to have your very first post ignored!! Believe me it really wasn't!

    And Welcome to the Alpha forums!!

    --do searches of this messageboard for answers and after reading even just a few threads you will come to realize how great this messageboard can be to figure things out.


    NOTE: to attach an image, text, or sample db use the advanced part of the messageboard response box, go to the paperclip icon at the top of the box, upload your file and then close the upload box, place your cursor where you want the attachment to be located in your response box, then go back to the paperclip and choose the dropdown arrow by it and click on the attachment you just uploaded.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Michael Hult
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Memo field will not update

    Thanks for your response. I did not even think about a sample database because all I did was create a very basic database with just two fields: a text field and a memo field. I did not change any properties or settings. But the text field will update and the memo will not save anything typed into it. I will try to upload the database so you can test it - but my guess is that it will work on your computer. It seems to me the problem must be a conflict with other software (like VB6) that I have loaded on my computer. Hope you can give me some insight. Thanks

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Memo field will not update

    Michael,
    You were right...works here. and if I try to close the form without explicitly saving Alpha asks what I want to do, save or cancel.

    Did you try the sample you uploaded...always a good idea as many times if something gets corrupted, simply rebuilding the form or adding a field fresh will resolve it. By checking the sample upload you not only are verifying that others will be able to open the file (that no mistakes were made in creating the sample) but also many times you will find that suddenly what did not work does--which would mean something in the original got corrupted.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Michael Hult
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Memo field will not update

    Yes, that database was what I tried as a test when my original database with several different memo fields exhibited the same symptom. I can type in the memo field but then, when I click in the text field box, the text I typed in the memo field box disappears. If I click on the pencil icon of the memo field then a little window pops up where you can enter text and there is a button to save the text and close the window. After typing in the window I click on the save button (no error message) and the window closes - but nothing is in the memo field box.

    So is there any way to get a list of dlls and other files (with their dates) that are suppose to be loaded into ram when Alpha5 is running? If I had that then I could compare those files and their dates to what is actually being loaded into ram on my computer. I'm thinking that perhaps an incorrect version of one of these files is being loaded into ram instead of the version that Alhpa5 is wanting.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Memo field will not update

    Michael,
    First make sure you are using the latest build--believe it is 1980 3163 currently--at least that is what I am using now.

    Then the easiest way I think if that was not it would be to reinstall Alpha--preferable with a new download as maybe it got corrupted from the get-go.


    EDIT_OOOOPS sorry bout that Michael, I gave the builds for my version 8
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: Memo field will not update

    Sorry about the previous post--forgot what versions we were using for a minute! The same holds true though regarding corruption--reinstall your Alpha to see if that is perhaps the cause.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Michael Hult
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Memo field will not update

    Hi, I uninstalled Alpha Five, rebooted, installed Alpha Five (install went fine - no error messages), rebooted, created new simple database with one character field and one memo field. Same symptom.

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Michael Hult
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Memo field will not update

    I added a table using one of the predefined templates which has a memo field in it. Same symptom with that field

Similar Threads

  1. Memo field and Global Update
    By AlexW in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-18-2008, 03:47 PM
  2. Cannot Update Memo Field
    By Rich Hartnett in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 04:16 PM
  3. Memo field in Grid with update function
    By dchiass in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-03-2007, 01:14 PM
  4. Grid Memo text disappears on going to Update
    By dchiass in forum Web Application Server v7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 08:19 PM
  5. Page Break not working in Memo and Rich Memo Field
    By pk9 in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2006, 05:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •