Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Adaptative field height for full content display

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Marc Tetreault (pronounced Tatro, 'a' as in 'way')
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42

    Default Adaptative field height for full content display

    Hi,

    As in a newspaper with many paragraphs of different length, we want to display some text field or other field type containing text or HTML, in a way that it displays fully the whole content of the field or even better, a kind of browse displaying several records of text, each one with its necessary hight in order not to hide some field parts because row hight is fixed.

    Of course, an obvious use of that is to put all web content in a database, so we can better manage multi-lingual translation and display.

    Is it possible? what could be the best way?
    A kind of browse, or a script that would create an HTML out of the needed records. (it this 2nd option, the problem is also to define on container on the page that is large enough)

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,631

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Welcome to the Alpha message board!

    You're just creating HTML here. There's nothing special about whether it's A5 or not.

    If, for instance, you define an html table with rows and cells, you can let the cell "grow" to fit your needs. If you want to limit it's height or width, you can do that too. In fact, if you were to look at the source for the page containing our messages, you'd see what I mean. The cell simply grows to accomodate the amount of text we've typed.
    -Steve


  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Marc Tetreault (pronounced Tatro, 'a' as in 'way')
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    I know HTML tables, but the goal is to display content from a database record, sometime not as a static content but as many dynamic content rows.

  4. #4
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,635

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    This is very easy to accomplish.

    If you look at www.asq-seattle.org, the event information in the center column, the FYI information below it, the announcements in the right column, and all the information in the "Leadership Pages" comes from databases, and all the blocks expand as necessary to provide for the space to fit.

    Pat

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Marc Tetreault (pronounced Tatro, 'a' as in 'way')
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Your example is convincing, especially the 5 column Event grid, but what is the best way to do that?
    Last edited by EMHmark7; 04-16-2008 at 12:18 AM.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,070

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    What you need is to have a look at the Grid component, all this looks like standard grid features to me...

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    It's nothing more than placing xbasic such as this at the appropriate location to reference a memo field:

    txt = table.external_record_content_get("[PathAlias.ADB_Path]\mytable","mymemofield")
    ?txt

    or

    lookup("[PathAlias.ADB_Path]\mytable",".t.","mymemofield")

    And if get creative with the filter parameter, you can customize the text based on logged in user, day of week, news category, or any thing else.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Marc Tetreault (pronounced Tatro, 'a' as in 'way')
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    I am in a pre-buy phase. So, bottom of the line is that you guys tell me that browse allow adaptative row hight. (as we can see in the display of this thread)

    Tell me if I am wrong.

    Thanks for your help.

  9. #9
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,070

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Quote Originally Posted by EMHmark7 View Post
    I am in a pre-buy phase. So, bottom of the line is that you guys tell me that browse allow adaptative row hight. (as we can see in the display of this thread)

    Tell me if I am wrong.

    Thanks for your help.
    A Browse is a desktop control, not a web form control. Generally in HTML, with is fixed but the height expands as needed.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Marc Tetreault (pronounced Tatro, 'a' as in 'way')
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    So, I' am interested in web gids.

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,070

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Quote Originally Posted by EMHmark7 View Post
    So, I' am interested in web gids.
    I didn't understand why you were mentioning Browses in that context :)

  12. #12
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Pat what version of the WAS are you using for http://www.asq-seattle.org/ ? because the speed is great

  13. #13
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,635

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Thank you for noticing. I'm using Version 8.

    The site is hosted on ZebraHost and we have a VPS with 1 gig ram. I have both non-SSL and SSL pages on the site, so I'm running two instances of the Alpha WAS, one for each domain.

    Also, I've been converting the site to CSS pages, and I've found that to help speed because I can bypass components and just display the data directly. For example, on the index page, the event list is a grid component, but the FYI below it and the announcements on the right are read into variables from the tables in the head section, then displayed.

    Pat

  14. #14
    "Certified" Alphaholic mmaisterrena's Avatar
    Real Name
    Mauricio Maisterrena
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Torreon, Mexico
    Posts
    1,435

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Ok thats great, so basically your saying that the less components you use to display data the better.

  15. #15
    VAR
    Real Name
    Bill Parker
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,719

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Quote Originally Posted by Pat Bremkamp View Post
    I have both non-SSL and SSL pages on the site, so I'm running two instances of the Alpha WAS, one for each domain.
    Pat,

    Off topic, but... I am curious if there were any issues setting this up. Is there a login that spans both types of pages? I have a site with non-SSL and SSL pages, but the non-SSL are just initial landing pages in HTML that I serve through IIS.

    Bill.

  16. #16
    VAR Pat Bremkamp's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat Bremkamp
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,635

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Bill,

    You have hit on the only issue. This setup requires two separate security systems (although now that security also applies to sub-directories, there may be a way around it.). Fortunately, in the non-SSL I have only public pages and administrative pages, and there are a small number of administrators to train about two logins. The two domains then are http://www.asq-seattle.org and https://secure.asq-seattle.org
    It's easy to move back and forth between them with menu buttons and links.

    Here's what I have:

    I've created two projects, one named STD, and one named SSL, and I put all the pages that don't need SSL in the STD project and all the pages that need SSL in the SSL project. There are no common pages or components.
    The STD project publishes to C:\a5\a5webroot
    The SSL project publishes to C:\a5\a5webroot\secure
    The tables, shared by both, go into C:\a5\data

    Pat

  17. #17
    VAR
    Real Name
    Bill Parker
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,719

    Default Re: Adaptative field height for full content display

    Thanks Pat. Nice job.

Similar Threads

  1. How to display full name in a Browse object
    By playaz2006 in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-09-2006, 11:23 PM
  2. Full Display Window In Alpha Four, ver 6
    By lagbowler in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-23-2006, 06:26 PM
  3. Memo field has content?
    By George Corder in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-21-2004, 11:21 AM
  4. XP and Full Screen Display
    By Jeannette Cook in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-05-2003, 08:00 AM
  5. copy field content
    By bob muzik in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-23-2001, 08:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •