New call-to-action
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 32

Thread: Access to my web page

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Access to my web page

    Hello

    Can anyone see my test web page ?

    http://79.160.22.18:8080/

    I appreciate any feedback.

    regards
    Hans Otto

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Cannot see it....

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    I can see it on my own PC.
    At the moment I also disconnected my router.

    Could Vista cause an access problem?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    I would suggest you start with this:

    http://www.alphasoftware.com/documentation/afas_setup/

    Not having your router hooked up would be a big problem.

    I don't belive there is anything inherent to Vista that would be causing your problem, if the proper permissions are granted

  5. #5
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,662

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans Otto View Post
    I can see it on my own PC.
    At the moment I also disconnected my router.

    Could Vista cause an access problem?
    A firewall can too.

    Here is what I see... and I pinged you and didn't get a response, but a router can be set to ignore a ping request.....
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Application server V9 latest patch
    The web page is published to C:\A5Webroot
    Configured the Alpha Five Web Application Server according to check list:
    “How to run the Alpha Five Application Server from your Office or Home Office PC”
    Windows Firewall off
    Norton Firewall configured to allow access to A5
    3com Router disconnected
    My ISP confirmers no closed ports
    My ip address http://79.160.22.18 confirmed from my ISP.
    Web page http://79.160.22.18:8080/ shows OK from my own PC

    Have I forgotten something?

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,662

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans Otto View Post
    Norton Firewall configured to allow access to A5

    Have I forgotten something?
    Turn Norton Firewall off - for testing for a few minutes only.

    I'm now getting a blank screen, so it's probably the firewall.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Port forwarding on your router? or is your router still out of the picture?

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    I have turned The Norton Firewall off for 15 minutes.

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    The router is out of the picture for the moment

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    I can ping your ip address now, but still nothing. You do have the WEB Application Server installed, correct? Not just a copy of Alpha Developer.

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    A5 V9 WEB Application Server installed and running.

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    I can ping your IP and port 8080 is open.

    Did you activate the sevrer? put in your registration code?

    (Sorry for the, what may seem obvious questions)

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Yes, I activated my Web server. If i activated it wrong, then I should not see the web page on my PC, correct?

  15. #15
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Depends. If you are running v9 developer as well on the same pc, you may see it. Is that why you are on port 8080? There is also a websever in A5 Developer. Try turning that off if it is not already off.

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    I have Alpha Five version 9 Platinium Edition. Build 1457.
    Is that what you refer to as webserver in A5 Developer?
    I now turned that Application server off.

    So where is the Appserver I activated? Seems I have lost something important here.

  17. #17
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    There are 2 products Alpha 5 V9 Platiunum Edition (developer) Where you can develop and test your desktop and web apps. This requires an activation and license number

    Alpha 5 V9 Application Server - This is the web server that will allow access to the outside (or LAN) users. This requires a separate license number and activation. If you do not have this installed, running and activated no one but you will be able to see your application.

    The Application server should be in the system tray if it is running.
    Last edited by Bill Griffin; 05-05-2008 at 03:28 PM.

  18. #18
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Bill, you put me on the (maybe) right track.

    Try http://79.160.22.18:8080/ again

  19. #19
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Still nothing

  20. #20
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    I finally located the REAL App server (this is really awkward).

    Trying to activate my license:
    "Please temporarily disable Windows UAC to activate the server."

    What is UAC ?

  21. #21
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,662

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Hans

    When you open the Application Server settings do you see what I have included here, or is there a license number in the blank red outlined box?

    Notice the top red lined box that states - localhost only
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  22. #22
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,662

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans Otto View Post
    What is UAC ?
    Open help on your VISTA? machine and type in UAC. Find how to disable UAC there.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  23. #23
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    User access control.

    Control panel --- User Accounts --- Turn off user access control

  24. #24
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    The license number is in the red outlined box with a reed dot i front.
    I also states: localhost only.

  25. #25
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Highlight it and hit activate

  26. #26
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Success!!

    You are configured on port 80

    now port 8080
    Last edited by Bill Griffin; 05-05-2008 at 03:46 PM. Reason: changed config to 8080

  27. #27
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Activated port 8080

    Bill and Al, thank you !

    Thank you for guiding me on this.

    Regards
    Hans Otto

  28. #28
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,662

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Hans

    Can we get a ride in the nice little airplane? ;)
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

  29. #29
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Bill Griffin
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Edgewood, NY
    Posts
    1,201

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Your welcome.

  30. #30
    Member
    Real Name
    Hans Otto Beisvåg
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Access to my web page

    Al

    I promise, when my project is financed I will invite you in private jet.

    Hans Otto

Similar Threads

  1. MS Access Web Query
    By atamarin in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-26-2007, 10:07 AM
  2. Using Access tables in web app
    By Steve Wood in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-12-2007, 07:14 AM
  3. 403 errors when trying to access preview page
    By the aviator in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2005, 05:26 AM
  4. Upload file to web server using web page
    By MIWAYNE in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2004, 05:30 AM
  5. web access
    By sean lu in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-19-2003, 01:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •