Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How active is Alpha 5 in the UK?

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Justin Roughley
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default How active is Alpha 5 in the UK?

    Dear all,
    Let me explain...

    I've been following Alpha 5 with interest over the past few years though haven't actually designed any applications in it.
    I'm very impressed by many aspects of it's design.

    I have 20 years experience with writing software and substantial experience of designing database in Microsoft Access. I have virtually no knowledge of web programming.

    I have a client who needs a fairly simple application.
    They are a parts distribution company and need an application to extract data from another database and then produce a web page or two with an interface which allows their customers to search for parts.

    The two methods I've come up with are:
    (a) php & mysql (b) Alpha5 & mysql

    I'd personally much prefer to go the Alpha5 route but there's one potential issue that I can't seem to let go of. My clients are important to me and I want to be able to assure them of continuing support. If I were unable
    to personally provide that for whatever reason then I would want to be able to point them in the direction of other Alpha5 developers in the UK.

    I've just been browsing the Alpha 5 "UK Users" regional forum. For instance I see that someone posted a message in October 2007 looking for a UK developer. To date they have had no response. This makes me wonder how (in my absence) my client would be able to find a UK developer reasonably quickly?

    This raises the question:
    "Do I really need a UK developer?"
    I would imagine that if the application didn't have an interface to any other databases that the answer could fairly reasonably be "No!" but the application will be extracting data from another database and if anything went wrong with this interface then having someone onsite might be necessary. Because this 'might', I think the answer to my question has to be "Yes!".

    So after a rather circuitous explanation, I'm left wondering if the Alpha5 community in the UK is active enough to provide a reliable enough source of support for my client?

    Any thoughts would be appreciated...

    Suhada

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Golcar, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    2,069

    Default Re: How active is Alpha 5 in the UK?

    Depending on where they host the app, there is probably no location restriction for the developer - as long as they can remotely access the web server they could be anywhere in the world, surely?

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: How active is Alpha 5 in the UK?

    For instance I see that someone posted a message in October 2007 looking for a UK developer. To date they have had no response.
    On this message board, obviously. We do not know that a developer did not contact them directly as the poster did allow receiving email messages in their profile.

  4. #4
    VAR
    Real Name
    Andy Meer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Atherstone UK
    Posts
    452

    Default Re: How active is Alpha 5 in the UK?

    Hi Justin,

    There are some good developers in the UK, I my self support many companies in the UK. to stop your worries a few of us are forming a consortium in the UK.

    Please check out my web site

    www.alphasoftwareuk.com

    I am also trying out the new Ajax elements in V9 you can take a look at these

    http://www.alphasoftwareuk.com/myajaxlookup2.a5w
    http://www.alphasoftwareuk.com/alphatabs.a5w
    http://www.alphasoftwareuk.com/myaccordion.htm

    If I can be of any help please let me know

    Andy

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Ciaran Doherty
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: How active is Alpha 5 in the UK?

    Andy,

    Thanks for the links, but is your website experiencing problems ? I cannot access.

    Thx.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Lance Gurd's Avatar
    Real Name
    Lance Gurd
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    1,422

    Default Re: How active is Alpha 5 in the UK?

    Same here Andy, can't open your sites. Firefox and IE

  7. #7
    VAR
    Real Name
    Andy Meer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Atherstone UK
    Posts
    452

    Default Re: How active is Alpha 5 in the UK?

    Hi Lance/Ciaran

    Yes I took the site down about a week ago, I am in the middle of building a site for the Carphone Warehouse, It should be ready for demo in the next few days, I will PM you both to take a look and see what you think

    Andy

Similar Threads

  1. Active X
    By jkukuda in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-27-2005, 04:42 PM
  2. Active X
    By Roger Jacob in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2003, 07:14 AM
  3. Active X
    By david chambers in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-11-2003, 06:59 AM
  4. Active-X
    By Jeffrey Twitchell in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2003, 03:22 PM
  5. Alpha 5 beta Active X
    By David Day in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-28-2002, 08:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •