Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: image file reference field on runtime network

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    RMann
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    52

    Default image file reference field on runtime network

    Hi forum..

    I have my app installed on a network with 3 pc's
    all running windows xp pro with the latest patch.
    now, here is the problem.....

    I have my database with the runtime files installed on workstation1. Sharing the database folder. This work station is acting as a server but someone is working from it.

    I have the runtime files installed on the other 2 workstations which are mapped in to workstation1. All have be optimized, Now if i change the picture in the image filed in the database from workstation1 it doesn't change on the other 2 workstations. If i change the text fields that updates the other pc's with no problem but the image doesn't.

    Now if i got to the other work stations and change the image in the image field, it updates to both workstations, but not workstation1 the(acting server).

    Now i know that i shouldn't have my database with the runtime files on the acting server together, but my customer only has 3 pc's and want to share the database and use all 3 pc's as workstations.

    Am i doing something wrong here?

    Thank for any advice..

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic glenschild's Avatar
    Real Name
    Glen Schild
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Frome, Somerset, UK
    Posts
    1,514

    Default Re: image file reference field on runtime network

    Hi there

    Does the image display correctly if you hit F5 (refresh display) on the offending machine?

    Regards

    Glen Schild

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    RMann
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    52

    Default Re: image file reference field on runtime network

    No, it doesn't display at all. I can close the app and re open it and only the text fields are updated.

    any ideas?

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic glenschild's Avatar
    Real Name
    Glen Schild
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Frome, Somerset, UK
    Posts
    1,514

    Default Re: image file reference field on runtime network

    The image file reference field stores the full location of the image say:

    c:\databasefolder\images\imagename.jpg

    I presume when it fails on the other machines the text that appears in the fields instead of the image shows the mapped location for the images where Alpha Five is expecting to find the images. say

    s:\databasefolder\images\imagename.jpg

    So when you update an image on one of the "non server" workstations it changes the location to that seen by that machine and thereby confusing the server machine.

    I think that made sense? If this is the case then presumably the only way to resolve would be to ensure that all three machines map to the drive in the same way?

    Regards

    Glen

  5. #5
    VAR
    Real Name
    Martin W. Cole
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Terrell, Texas (near Dallas)
    Posts
    5,951

    Default Re: image file reference field on runtime network

    Glen, I was thinking along the same lines - in situations where I have say 3 users or so on a LAN, and one of them is acting as the server, then I create a map the same way I do on the other machines. And I also shadow that computer the same way I do the others. Although, we always have a partition on the drive that we use for the app - like on the main computer it would likely be drive "D" since "C" is the first. And if the other workstations are mapped to "Drive D" as "S", then I also create a map on the main computer to "Drive D" as "S."
    Cole Custom Programming - Terrell, Texas
    972 524 8714
    martin_w_cole@msn.com

    ____________________
    "A young man who is not liberal has no heart, but an old man who is not conservative has no mind." GB Shaw

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,785

    Default Re: image file reference field on runtime network

    Here is a page in the help about 'Aliases'. It seems to be relevant to this discussion. I have not used it so can not comment further. Just thought I would bring it to your attention.
    Tim Kiebert
    Eagle Creek Citrus
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,011

    Default Re: image file reference field on runtime network

    Maybe this can help a little as I was not able to understand all of what I read above/

    1. Use a pathe to data like \\servername\datafoler\data.adb. Mapping drives can and usually does cause problems.

    2. if you are going to use 3 computers and one of them is a server. That is ok(not great), put your data in a shared folder. access it from the other 2 computers by shadow and also from the server by shadow, making your shadowed fold different from the data folder. Example: my shadowed folders on all workstations are drive:\ups55 and the server folder is server:\ups55s. The shadowed tables on the server are in drive:\ups55 just like the other work stations. It just cuts down on problems. seems to go faster too.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

  8. #8
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,011

    Default Re: image file reference field on runtime network

    Maybe this can help a little as I was not able to understand all of what I read above/

    1. Use a path to data like \\servername\datafoler\data.adb. Mapping drives can and usually does cause problems.

    2. if you are going to use 3 computers and one of them is a server. That is ok(not great), put your data in a shared folder. access it from the other 2 computers by shadow and also from the server by shadow, making your shadowed fold different from the data folder. Example: my shadowed folders on all workstations are drive:\ups55 and the server folder is server:\ups55s. The shadowed tables on the server are in drive:\ups55 just like the other work stations. It just cuts down on problems. seems to go faster too.

    3. If the picture files need to reside on the server so all can see from the workstations, then the path should be to there, but for portability use the function(I believe a5.GET_MASTER_PATh()) for that path+the \picfolder\pic as needed. This way if the jpg, or ir change it will retriev the new one. Path looks like a5.GET_MASTER_PATh()+"\\apic\"P"+acct+".jpg"
    a. I do this in field rules. You cannot make it a calculated field but you can make it in the data entry - simple condition. Insert the proper path and it sould always work. Mine happens to use a "P"+ACCT+".jpg" as the pic is saved in the folder with a P+ the acct number and we only use jpg right now.

    Hope this helps

    .
    Last edited by DaveM; 05-18-2008 at 10:31 PM.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    RMann
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    52

    Default Re: image file reference field on runtime network

    I was able to get this to work by making the image folder a seperate shared folder from the database folder. example: when you click on network places from the other work stations, you would see a shared folder for the database and a shared folder for the images, all coming from the acting server. As long as everyone chooses the image from this folder it would update the other stations. I didn't have to create a shadowed database from the acting server to get it to update. I guess the only problem i would have is, if the client decided to move the database to an actual stand alone server each record's image field would have to be updated to the newly shared image folder.

    Thanks for all the help and suggestions.
    Kool :)



    Quote Originally Posted by glenschild View Post
    The image file reference field stores the full location of the image say:

    c:\databasefolder\images\imagename.jpg

    I presume when it fails on the other machines the text that appears in the fields instead of the image shows the mapped location for the images where Alpha Five is expecting to find the images. say

    s:\databasefolder\images\imagename.jpg

    So when you update an image on one of the "non server" workstations it changes the location to that seen by that machine and thereby confusing the server machine.

    I think that made sense? If this is the case then presumably the only way to resolve would be to ensure that all three machines map to the drive in the same way?

    Regards

    Glen

  10. #10
    "Certified" Alphaholic Tim Kiebert's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tim Kiebert
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Geelong, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,785

    Default Re: image file reference field on runtime network

    Quote Originally Posted by TheseNutts View Post
    I guess the only problem i would have is, if the client decided to move the database to an actual stand alone server each record's image field would have to be updated to the newly shared image folder.

    Thanks for all the help and suggestions.
    Kool :)
    I think that is the purpose of the Alias feature I pointed out. The path would be stored as [some_alias]imagename.jpg . Then if the path changed you only need to change the definition of the alias.
    Tim Kiebert
    Eagle Creek Citrus
    A complex system that does not work is invariably found to have evolved from a simpler system that worked just fine.

Similar Threads

  1. Image Reference Field and Network Optimization
    By jkletrovets in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 01:59 PM
  2. image file reference field question
    By martinwcole in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2006, 09:45 PM
  3. Image File Reference Field
    By gloala in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-29-2006, 01:19 PM
  4. Use character field to reference image file
    By Howard G. Cornett in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2005, 07:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •