Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Error Message "Data Value..."

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Dayeleine Lewis
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default Error Message "Data Value..."

    When entering data in some tables we get an error message that says "Data value cannot fit into a numeric field of size". This is listed as error 1069 in the error code listing in the help menu.

    The field is a numeric field and I have tried increasing the field size to the max w/2 decimals. It will let me enter 2 digits and the decimals (i.e. 90.23) but not the 100's or higher.

    Most recently it is doing this on a table that I have been using for over 8 years with no previous problems. It has also appeared in different db application we designed but we had been able to work around it.

    What causes this and is there a way to fix it short of deleting the fields and recreating them?

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    25,119

    Default Re: Error Message "Data Value..."

    The error often occurs when you have a posting field rule to another table and the other table's field cannot hold the posted value. It also can be triggered if you have a calculated field which is not capable of holding the value calculated.

  3. #3
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,026

    Default Re: Error Message "Data Value..."

    Stan most likely hit it, but:

    If you are working within a form, did you increase the field size in the form to match the table field size? I don't think this would cause your problem, but have not tested it.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic MoGrace's Avatar
    Real Name
    Robin
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,711

    Default Re: Error Message "Data Value..."

    I'm going with Dave - I'll bet the form width is incorrect... I have had form conversions reset numeric or other field sizes to 1 instead of the table specified size.
    Robin

    Discernment is not needed in things that differ, but in those things that appear to be the same. - Miles Sanford

  5. #5
    "Certified" Alphaholic G Gabriel's Avatar
    Real Name
    G. Gabriel
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    7,204

    Default Re: Error Message "Data Value..."

    The width of the field on the form is inconsequential and should not generate this error.

    Check the size of your table in KB.

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic DaveM's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Mason
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Hudson, FL
    Posts
    6,026

    Default Re: Error Message "Data Value..."

    I tested the form width theory I had and found it invalid. I had a field with ondepart send a way over figure to another field. No errors came up.
    Dave Mason
    dave@aldausa.com
    Skype is dave.mason46

Similar Threads

  1. A4V6-"No file handles left"Error message
    By RALPH WHALEY in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-11-2009, 06:35 AM
  2. Error message: "Can't add tag to compound index"
    By thmontgomery in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-31-2008, 12:58 AM
  3. Error message - "Could not re-build Addin-library.aex"
    By brett s in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-19-2007, 02:28 AM
  4. Error Message: "heap lock failure"
    By Jerry Jalbert in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 04:02 AM
  5. error message"invalid key length"
    By aaron nash in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-31-2003, 04:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •