Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Nathan Zeiset
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ephrata, PA
    Posts
    229

    Default AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    I recently moved our site to a server running Windows Server 2008 (64-bit). I had been running A5 WAS v8 under AlwaysUp on the old server, which worked fine, but now I can't get WAS to run under AlwaysUp on the new server. I think that I have the same settings as I did before, but I'm not sure, since I failed to export them before shutting down the old server.

    The strange thing is that at first nothing seems amiss. AlwaysUp indicates that the WAS is running, the computer indicates that the WAS is running as a service, and it's listed as a running process under Windows Task Manager. However, when I try to access a page on our site with a browser, I get a 404 error (the requested URL was not found on this server). If I try to go to our home page without specifying the name (index.a5w), I get a 403 error (this server does not allow directory browsing).

    This problem only occurs when I'm attempting to run the WAS under AlwaysUp as a service. Our site runs fine when running the WAS directly. Does anyone familiar with AlwaysUp have a suggestion?

    Thanks!
    Nathan

  2. #2
    Member
    Real Name
    Clive Swanepoel
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Johnston, Iowa
    Posts
    119

    Default Re: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    Did you enter logon details in the AlwaysUp Logon Tab?
    Affordable Alpha Five, PHP, MySQL Hosting.
    Serving Webmasters since 2000.ZebraHost

  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    Nathan,

    If needed, drop an email to AlwaysUp at www.coretechnologies.com. The owner is very nice about responding to support questions.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  4. #4
    Member
    Real Name
    Nathan Zeiset
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ephrata, PA
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    Yes, as far as I know I have entered the correct logon details.

    I have also sent an email to Core Technologies, and am waiting for a response.

    Thanks!
    Nathan

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Nathan Zeiset
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ephrata, PA
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    Does anyone else have WAS v8 running successfully under AlwaysUp on a Windows 2008 server? I've been corresponding with Core Technologies, but so far we haven't found a solution.

    Nathan

  6. #6
    "Certified" Alphaholic peteconway's Avatar
    Real Name
    Peter Conway
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,641

    Default Re: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    No - But really - make the jump to V9 -Always up is a goer with V9- it's another game all together all round. It's well worth the upgrade.
    Peter

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    Nathan,

    See this article on Win2008 services: http://www.windowsecurity.com/articl...rver-2008.html

    I see info about Group Policy designed to protect programs running as a service.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Nathan Zeiset
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ephrata, PA
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    Steve,

    According to the article that you reference, there needs to be a domain controller running on the network. My server is part of a workgroup, not a domain, which, if I'm not mistaken, means that I can't access the Group Policy Management Console. (I tried to use the GPMC, but was told that I need to log on to the computer with a domain user account.) Does that mean that the information in the article does not apply to this situation?

    Nathan

  9. #9
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,842

    Default Re: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    I haven't a clue. Group policy stuff always baffled me. I don't have a Win2008 server at my disposal otherwise I would try to make it work. So I can't be of much help other than what I found online.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Nathan Zeiset
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ephrata, PA
    Posts
    229

    Default Re: AlwaysUp, WAS, and Windows Server 2008

    The problem has been solved, thanks to Howard at Core Technologies!

    1. AlwaysUp needs to run as administrator. This was enabled in the Advanced Properties of the shortcut.

    2. When run by AlwaysUp, the WAS configuration seems to be different than when started normally. To access this configuration, "Restart Alpha Web Application Server in this session" was selected from the Application menu of AlwaysUp. The document root was then changed to the proper location, which eliminated the errors in my first post.

    Nathan

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Server 2008
    By Nathan Zeiset in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-27-2009, 01:08 AM
  2. Running both AlwaysUp and A5v8
    By Pat Bremkamp in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-29-2008, 01:56 AM
  3. AlwaysUp and date validation
    By stevemreid in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 01:20 PM
  4. Windows 2000 Server with Windows 98 Client
    By Veronica Perez in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2002, 06:09 AM
  5. Windows 2000 server
    By Ronald Anusiewicz in forum Alpha Four Version 6 and Prior
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2001, 07:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •