Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

  1. #1
    Member kthibeault1965's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keven Thibeault
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston Mass USA
    Posts
    108

    Default a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    Hello everyone

    Just this week our development server started experiencing major slow downs. Windows reports memory usage of about 161mb and 99% or 100% server utilization.

    the only thing that has changed recently is that we have deployed another application to the server, on that is not even in test mode yet. There are no sessions being used and no user traffic from what I can see.

    Is there any way I can pull back the curtain and see what is chewing up so many resources within the a5applicationserver.exe process? Is there an xbasic command that can show me via the interactive window what is happening inside the application server world?

    Regardign the possible causes, is there such a thing as a java script that continues to loop, but does not ever complain or give an error message? The application is in its very early prototype phase and is extremely simple with only 7- 10 screens.

    Thanks all in advance... KT
    Logical Design
    Keven Thibeault
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Dwell in possibility

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Wood's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Wood
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    8,838

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    You might look at HTTP Debugger Pro. I use this to watch transactions on the server. If an HTTP based loop is running, you will see it.

    Next, some CPU monitoring program, or the one built in to the OS (which I never can figure out how to use). Record CPU usage over time and compare to your A5 Error and Raw logs.

    But the best way is just to isolate it within your program by selectively shutting off parts of the application and watching the results.

    If you Google "javascript endless loop" you get a bunch of cases.
    Steve Wood
    Join the ALPHA DEVELOPERS NETWORK
    There is no Cloud. It's just someone else's computer.
    Web - Mobile - Hosting - Products - Frameworks - Developer Resources
    AlphaToGo | IADN (100% Alpha Anywhere Websites)

  3. #3
    Member kthibeault1965's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keven Thibeault
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston Mass USA
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    Thanks Steve - I will do all of the above and report back!
    Logical Design
    Keven Thibeault
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Dwell in possibility

  4. #4
    Member kthibeault1965's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keven Thibeault
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston Mass USA
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    After much study, it turns out that the cause is linked somehow to multiple instances of Alpha5.exe running (as viewed within Taskmgr) on XP.

    there seems to be a bug in Alpha that when you close the desktop application, the application disappears from view, however, the application continues to Run. This is especially taxing if the app server is running at the same time. It is repeatable and I will report the problem.

    By going into taskmgr and manually stopping each non needed process, the utilization goes back down to normal.

    Anybody got any ideas why this is?
    Logical Design
    Keven Thibeault
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Dwell in possibility

  5. #5
    Member Tommy Thompson's Avatar
    Real Name
    Tommy Thompson
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Tennessee (Macgregor 26S)
    Posts
    451

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    It's enough of a problem that I wrote a script that checks for multiple processes named Alpha5.exe. Be glad to give it to you. You could probably incorporate it into a close application button .
    Tommy Thompson
    Thompson Consulting Services
    Beautiful Kentucky Lake, Springville, TN 38256
    tommy@btthompson.com


  6. #6
    Member Editor's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Shaw
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    This was the most recent post I can find -2007 - but the problem seems to still exist.

    I have A5 v9 and yes it runs up to 99% almost all the time. Easy to tell, because my fans go nuts. At least I can keep warm on these cold nights. But seriously, Alpha does not stop running. I can maneuver around the app, change pages, eben continue (usually) to edit, but it eats up all my resources. Even Avid won;t do that on a serious rendering session.

    Like a Valium, it quiets down when I turn off the Appserver, but that makes live preview a bit tough. Oh, everything is fine when doing desktop apps. This is only occurring in web projects development.

    So, what's up, and what is the fix?
    David Shaw
    Manager of Media Services and User Support
    Cleveland Museum of Art
    Cleveland, Ohio

  7. #7
    Member kthibeault1965's Avatar
    Real Name
    Keven Thibeault
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boston Mass USA
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    We have traced the cause (we think) to some errant xbasic scripts that once corrected, solve the issue. The scripts were re-written and the problem for the most part has subsided.
    Logical Design
    Keven Thibeault
    Boston, Massachusetts
    Dwell in possibility

  8. #8
    Member Editor's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Shaw
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    Are these scripts inherent to A5v9, or something you wrote for your app? If the latter, I do not have them on board to create this problem. If the first, then was it corrected in a new release (patch)?

    My A5v9 is only 2 months off the assembly line! BUILD 1772
    David Shaw
    Manager of Media Services and User Support
    Cleveland Museum of Art
    Cleveland, Ohio

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Doug Page
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    963

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    You say you don't have any scripts "on board". It would seem highly unlikely that you have any kind of an app that doesn't do anything. If you use Action Scripts, well those are scripts. And since scripts are just a group of code, any XBasic you have would also cause a problem if incorrectly written. Or are you trying to say that this happens right after you start Alpha? Perhaps it might be possible to post your app so that the experts might have a look and see if they can find out what's happening. However, I would do a little testing with your app and see if you can find out what part of your app is causing the increase in CPU usage and post a repeatable method for those willing to have a look.

  10. #10
    Member Editor's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Shaw
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    Doug,
    I meant that I have not written anything other than what A5 can generate. I'm not to the scripting point yet in my expertise. Therefore, any scripts running, come from A5. The "on-board" was referring to anything not automatically written into the app.

    It used to not do this, when the project was relatively small. It does seem to really frire up whenever I work with .a5w pages (vs grd) and A5 hangs badly if I delete an .a5w.

    I'll get some concrete evidence together so as not to waste anyone's time on the forum.

    Dave - more to come
    David Shaw
    Manager of Media Services and User Support
    Cleveland Museum of Art
    Cleveland, Ohio

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Mike Christensen
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan U.P.
    Posts
    5,937

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    Dave,
    Anytime code is written, whether by you or Alpha, decisions were made regarding not only the order in which to do various scripts but also when they are to be processed. What I am saying is that it is NOT just incorrect script/code that can cause a "hang", but also an incorrect order or placement of it. Ex: on the desktop side which I am more familiar with----the same script on the OnInit event can freeze/crash Alpha whereas on the OnActivate event will run just fine. Also, when a later part of the script is dependent upon a prior part, if a script is out of order it can stop and cause all sorts of issues.

    So my point is do not just look at the script, but also these things when trying to diagnose a problem.
    Mike
    __________________________________________
    It is only when we forget all our learning that we begin to know.
    It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
    Henry David Thoreau
    __________________________________________




  12. #12
    Member Editor's Avatar
    Real Name
    Dave Shaw
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    Thank you,
    You did bring a good point to diagnose as this was fine before adding 30 pages of web build to the project. The desktop runs very well. I'll try a test, reverting to a version before web app design was begun. The data is the same (fields, qty etc). So if it behaves with that it will point me to the web design. Will do some retro diagnostics and try to pinpoint what happened/when.

    Dave
    David Shaw
    Manager of Media Services and User Support
    Cleveland Museum of Art
    Cleveland, Ohio

  13. #13
    Volunteer Moderator
    Real Name
    Alan Buchholz
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Delavan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,617

    Default Re: a5applicationserver.exe = hogging 99% CPU utilization

    Dave

    Are you leaving the page or component editor open? Make sure those are closed after you do your work and no longer need them...

    There is also an issue with remote desktop access and the clipboard that can cause this issue.
    Al Buchholz
    Bookwood Systems, LTD
    Weekly QReportBuilder Webinars Thursday 1 pm CST

    Occam's Razor - KISS
    Normalize till it hurts - De-normalize till it works.
    Advice offered and questions asked in the spirit of learning how to fish is better than someone giving you a fish.
    When we triage a problem it is much easier to read sample systems than to read a mind.

Similar Threads

  1. Change name of .exe to Alpha5v8.exe
    By Jerry Gray in forum Archived Wishlist
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-21-2008, 01:02 PM
  2. DB Utilization
    By Mark Chandler in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-27-2005, 05:51 PM
  3. A4 users have high sw port utilization
    By Susan Brown in forum Alpha Four Versions 7 and 8
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2003, 08:47 PM
  4. CPU utilization again
    By russ Boehle in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-28-2002, 04:28 PM
  5. Alpha Five Version Four Hogging System Resources
    By Mike Gillhoolley in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-29-2002, 09:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •