Alpha Video Training
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: form.view("fName","","","center","center")

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Tony Reynolds
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    394

    Default form.view("fName","","","center","center")

    I have this code on misc. buttons throughout my app to open assorted forms:

    form.view("form-name","","","center","center")

    This use to open my forms centered in the window. However, it is not centering it on x or y.

    I have even tried to add an action script to the a forms oninit event to center the positon of the window.

    My forms all have thier form properties>window>position left&top set to default.

    Am I doing something wrong?
    Thanks in advanced.
    Tony

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,612

    Default Re: form.view("fName","","","center","center")

    Looks right to me Tony. You say what the forms aren't doing. What are they doing? Random? Top left? Almost centered?
    -Steve


  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Tony Reynolds
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    394

    Default Re: form.view("fName","","","center","center")

    It is really inconsistant. I would say that the majority of the time the form will open in or near to the upper left hand corner.

    However, if you click the button to open a form, close the form, click the button again, and repeat, the window will open a little lower and a little more to the left each time. So it does change around.

    Thanks again for your help.
    Tony
    Last edited by reynolditpi; 07-14-2008 at 10:34 PM.

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator Steve Workings's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steve Workings
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    The Dreaded Chair
    Posts
    5,612

    Default Re: form.view("fName","","","center","center")

    Do you have form names with unusual characters in them?

    Try your instruction with a form in Alpha Sports from the Interactive window.
    -Steve


  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Tony Reynolds
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    394

    Default Re: form.view("fName","","","center","center")

    My form names do not contain anything but alphanumeric characters and the occasional underscore. Examples form names would be: exercise, workout, cycle, etc.

    I ran form.view() from my interactive window and it does the same thing it does when run from a button push on a form.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Tony Reynolds
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    394

    Default Re: form.view("fName","","","center","center")

    Okay. This was another boo boo on my part.

    I had inadvertantly checked the maximize form option under database options.

    Although I have the main form maximized, none of the rest are and this seemed to cause the problem.

    Thanks for the help.
    T

Similar Threads

  1. To "zoom to record" or to "open form" using action scripting, that is the question.
    By georgefurnel in forum Alpha Five Version 9 - Desktop Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-18-2008, 07:32 PM
  2. "Add" and "Save" buttons don't stay on "Self" page
    By Scholin in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 08:50 AM
  3. Field rule lookup - select "A"; enter "X"
    By CALocklin in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-24-2008, 04:45 PM
  4. The power of a "Dialog" and the ease of use of a "Grid" component.
    By Fulltimer in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 02:08 AM
  5. Duplicating a "Parent" record complete with "Children"
    By Peterg in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-23-2006, 10:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •